We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit just as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Terraces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Terraces to your Saves list
Waterfront Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
south strathfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“return visit just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

we stayed yet again at Waterfront, really enjoyed it, loved the views and sea breezes from the second floor, tremendous 10 minute walk along The Esplanade into town; great management, worth the effort

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Tribulation, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose to stay here after reports from friends. We planned on 3 nights here and ended up staying 4. Despite being last minute, this was no problem for the staff. Our apartment was clean, comfortable & had everything you need while having a holiday with the family. Our kids are only young, but both felt very comfortable in the apartment - both actually wanting to go to bed on the first night - novelty of having a "new bedroom". Got to come to Cairns to have a baby later in the year and will stay here again if vacancies. Great location, great for families. Overall a relaxing break! Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great little apartments with beautiful and well equip kitchen. Andrew was super helpful is all aspect, I never needed to lift a finger to organise both of the tours we went on. Made our stay extremely easy and welcoming! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions when in Cairns, choosing it because it has a full size kitchen in it which gives us the option to buy food and cook if we chose.

We always stayed in a one bedroom and were put on the ground floor all but the last time I stayed there. The second floor was great (despite having lug bag up a flight of steps) - thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony morning and evening and watch the world go by on the Esplanade.

Apartments are clean, well equipped and comes with parking.
Management seemed pleasant enough, helpful with making sure apartment was accessible when checking in afterhours. I didn't book any tours through the apartments so can't comment on that.

Positives are its quiet location, prices are good (you can usually get a good internet deal)

Negatives are that its a good solid fifteen minute walk to town which is fine in the dry season when cooler but can be hot in the wet season but you don't get the city noise here which is a bonus.

Pool is clean, easily accesible.

Esplanade on your doorstep, view of ocean.

A good choice if you're needing an apartment style accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here in November this year, specifically for the Eclipse. Many places in Cairns had sold out when I started planning our trip in April but Waterfront Terraces still had vacancies and I was happy to see it had good reviews. It is not modern, however it is clean and had everything we needed for a stay with two young children. My girls loved the pool (and spa) and the fact that we could walk to Muddy's Playground (fantastic place for kids) and even into Cairns city if we desired (though we usually drove so the 5 year old didn't whinge!). The laundry was very good and we were able to wash frequently. Andrew (Manager) assisted us to book a day trip to Kuranda and was very helpful when I needed to find a Doctor for one of my daughters when she got conjunctivitis. If you are travelling with young children there is a place called Baby Equipment Hire which is in walking distance to Waterfront Terraces and we hired a pram from there for our trip - very easy and they dropped off for us too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Waterfront Terraces is a very nice motel with a good view, good rooms, and friendly reception. It was recommended by a friend, and I now confidently recommend to others.

The view of the sunrise is delightful. and great to see families, etc out on the Esplanade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The stay at the waterfront terraces was generally good and mainly peaceful apart from noisy nieghbours on a couple evenings (no fault of the management) just inconsiderate fellow holidayers and there bad behaving children. The manager Andrew was very helpful and friendly
whilst I was there.

Utensils/cutlery could be better, the views over the harbour are nice but muddy..... disapointing!
Room was nice, Air con worked very well with off street parking being a bonus. The pool and BBQ facilities were great. Close to town centre but far enough to be quiet from the hussle of the city night life.

The room most definately could do with a detailed clean was my main gripe and disapointment.
Good value for money, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.