We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, especially for kids!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome

Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome
35 - 41 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4031 7250
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome like an insider
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome
Ranked #23 of 100 things to do in Cairns
Activities: Backpacking, Biking, City walk sightseeing, Dining, Drinking, Group tours/train, Hiking, Scuba diving, Shopping, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cairns ZOOM is the world's first Challenge Ropes Course in a wildlife park, situated in the centre of Cairns on the rooftop of the Reef Hotel Casino. Experience adventure at varying heights and levels of difficulty on the Mid-ZOOM and Hi-ZOOM courses with 65 elements of crossings and ziplines - including one which takes you directly over a 4 metre saltwater crocodile! The PowerJump is a free-fall adventure with a 13m drop, whilst the Dome-Climb offers spectacular views of the city and surrounding land and landscapes. Make sure you spend some time interacting with all our wildlife, with Shows and Presentations throughout the day. Keep an eye out for Snowy the rare white kookaburra, as well as turtles, pythons, freshwater crocodiles, lizards, gliders and hand- feed our pademelons.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially for kids!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Overall the ZOOm is a great activity for families.

Doing the zoom part involves a lot of climbing and balance. If you don't like heights than you should probably reconsider doing that activity! At one stage we were about 20ft above the ground on a rickety plank! However just doing the zoo part of the activity is great, they have walkways etc.

Our family just did the mid level zoom as our kids were too short (6 & 8 years old) to do the higher levels. The activity took about 25 mins.

If doing the zoom part make sure that you wear enclosed shoes, no dresses for the kids. They do have lockers there but the less you take the best. The zoom part is completely different to the zoo part so if you are on a tight budget just do the zoo part. If you turn up in thongs you would have to hire shoes ($5).

If you are not sure if you want to do the climbing part, they do not tell you this, but you can just pay for that part once you are inside, past the gate, for the same price as you would if you paid upfront.

The talks were excellent and we spent a total time of 3 hours there! There is a lot of hands on experiences with the animals which the kids loved. Bring the camera!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    97
    51
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It changed quit a bit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I went to the Dome in 2010 and it was lovely then but my recent visit with family wasn't worth it, we paid quit a great amount and only to found what I saw years ago had changed and looked run down and dirty. Birds everywhere and the ground was muddy and black.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We're sorry to hear of your disappointment at the Cairns ZOOm & Wildlife Dome. Our wildlife park has a large range of diverse wildlife including koalas, crocodiles, lizards, bettongs, mahogany gliders, turtles, snakes, and a rare white kookaburra, as well as many bird species.

I’m surprised to hear you thought the park looked run down and dirty, as we have recently added brand new exhibits such as the small bird aviary, and the park itself is cleaned and maintained on a daily basis at regular intervals. The recent addition of the Cairns ZOOM Challenge Ropes Course has added an adventurous element to the existing wildlife interaction experience, with 65 elements of crossings and ziplines at varying heights and levels of difficulty at an additional cost.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner / Sales Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Early evening to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Wanted to kill some time before dinner so we went to the dome and undertook the Zoom high ropes course which took about 30mins each course (did middle and high) one zip line you take is over a 4.1m croc in its enclosure.
Animals throughout the enclosure with birds, snakes, wallabies to view.
Finished with the 30ft drop -good fun and kills a couple of hours

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Interlude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

we loved the birds and wildlife here, staff were friendly, not too competent with a camera if you want your pic taken with a koala etc., though

if you are into ziplines, abseiling etc., it would be a whole heap of fun as they have quite an obstacle course above the exhibits....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cute little zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What struck us about this place was that many of the birds and some smaller animals had free reign of the whole place. Made for great atmosphere! We only did the walk about so can't say much about the adventure part. However we were there at night and got to see some of the nocturnal animals at their active best. Worth it at the price, especially since they allow multiple entries over five days.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome also viewed

 

Been to Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.