We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obstacle course great fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome

Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome
35 - 41 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4031 7250
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome like an insider
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome
Ranked #23 of 100 things to do in Cairns
Activities: Backpacking, Biking, City walk sightseeing, Dining, Drinking, Group tours/train, Hiking, Scuba diving, Shopping, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cairns ZOOM is the world's first Challenge Ropes Course in a wildlife park, situated in the centre of Cairns on the rooftop of the Reef Hotel Casino. Experience adventure at varying heights and levels of difficulty on the Mid-ZOOM and Hi-ZOOM courses with 65 elements of crossings and ziplines - including one which takes you directly over a 4 metre saltwater crocodile! The PowerJump is a free-fall adventure with a 13m drop, whilst the Dome-Climb offers spectacular views of the city and surrounding land and landscapes. Make sure you spend some time interacting with all our wildlife, with Shows and Presentations throughout the day. Keep an eye out for Snowy the rare white kookaburra, as well as turtles, pythons, freshwater crocodiles, lizards, gliders and hand- feed our pademelons.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Obstacle course great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were so glad we found this on our last day in Cairns. The weather had been wet all week and we were running out of options. This was fabulous... started with the mid zoom as have 2 x 7 year olds who absolutely "zoomed" through the course with no fear but great excitement. One did the power jump with Dad and other did the dome walk around the top outside with Mum. Once we completed mid zoom, we all wanted to stay and do the high zoom. It is recommended you are over 140cm, however having done the mid zoom with no problems (and kids being just short of 140cm), we were allowed to.
High zoom was challenging only because the cable connecting you to the railing was quite high and we had to keep helping the kids move forward. Having said that we all had a tremendous time and enjoyed zip lining over the croc! We all loved it... the kids had no problems however I wouldn't take kids younger than 6/7. I was surprised at how confident my kids were as you do go up quite high. The staff were great and do take plenty of water... you will get very hot and sweaty! We were there for over 2 hours and it cost us all up approx $160. Make sure you wear runners or closed shoes and decent shorts/t-shirts as you need to wear a full harness. We didn't spend any time looking at the wildlife as such, as were busy with the zoom. Fabulous afternoon - highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    97
    51
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Zip-lining over a live croc!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I did the 2 levels of rope courses and the power jump. We loved being up amongst the birds and saw loads of them while we were climbing along the course. I've done a couple of these type of courses and found this one to be really interesting and had some unusual and quirky elements.

More information regarding the best way to cross each part would have been useful (when I have done these before there were little pictures to guide you).

We only stayed for the Koala talk so I can't really comment on these but the lady we spoke to answered all our questions and we were able to stroke the Koala.

You also receive a ticket allowing you to return at any point over the next 4 days which makes it really good value. I recommend doing this at the start of your stay so you can pop back again if it's raining or you have a bit of spare time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“need to expand the amount of animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Need to expand enclosures get professional signs on the enclosures very poof the way they are done staff are good especially two of them ben and ross they are the only ones that care and have great knowledge they are great with public these two are a assett to fiim cost of entery is e pensive for whats there get more animals guys

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Cairns ZOOm & Wildlife Dome. With regards to our wildlife enclosures, they actually meet, and exceed, biosecurity regulations, with the number of exhibits steadily increasing since 2006.

We have recently implemented new professionally-made signage for the animal exhibits. In addition to this we also have handwritten “keeper’s notes” positioned around the park – this allows us to update our visitors with more current interesting facts.

We have a large range of diverse wildlife including koalas, crocodiles, lizards, bettongs, mahogany gliders, turtles, snakes, and a rare white kookaburra, as well as many bird species. Keep in mind that the majority of these animals are free flying or free roaming, so a result, visitors will see most of them opportunistically.

Whilst your positive feedback on two particular staff members is very encouraging, we pride ourselves on all staff being knowledgeable, passionate and helpful. To say that no one else cares is quite insulting to the rest of the hardworking team, and devalues the great work that they all do.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner / Sales Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience for All Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Wildlife doom is a fantatsic place to visit for tourists. The unique experience provided by allowing you to roam through the dome free with all the birds is fantastic. The crocodile enclosure is spectacular offering you fantastic above gorund and below water views of the croc. The interactive deomnstrations are great for kids and international tourists in terms of education and the plaques around the place are also very informative. An very unique and excellent experience in a fantastic location on top of the casino!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

As the mother and G, ma I watched my sons and grandsons climb the ropes. They all had a great time my sons saying it was a lot harder than they expected it to be and I would recommend it to anyone who was fit. Iw

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome also viewed

 

Been to Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.