We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
The Hotel Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in a twin room for one night and found it spacious and clean. The beds were verry comfortable and had the best pillows ever. The bathroom had a large bathtub with a fixed half-screen and the biggest shower head that I have ever seen anywhere. If you have mobility issues you may find it difficult stepping out of the tub as it is high and the edge of the tub is quite wide, meaning you have to step out wide and down without slipping in the tub with the other wet foot. Hand rails are fixed. There are no fancy frills (complimentary toiletries), just soap, which is all we needed. The hair-dryer was old, as are the light switches. The onsite restaurant was only open for breakfast, however the hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, the esplanade and the CBD. Off-street parking is available. Overall, good place to stay if you are just looking for a comfy bed at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roads as the hotel is located on a fairly busy corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    72
    29
    27
See reviews for
32
188
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
werribiee victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have read the complaints re The Hotel Cairns. As the saying goes you will never please every oneall the time.
My wife and I spent 4 days in the hotel, front of house staff go out of there way to help.
When we asked where the best place was to hire a car, I was told (don't be silly you can use one of ours, free of charge), we only had to pay for the insurance for the car. We saved a couple of hundred dollars doing this.

Evening meal in the restaurant, was a little expensive for us being on the pension. Breakfast was good, have as much of what you want, in a very nice dining room.
Just cant say enough how friendly and helpful the staff are, it is well in walking distance to Cairns CBD, and all the other restaurants and shops.

We will be going again, and will happily tell others of this Hotel, the friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yungaburra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent one night here a fortnight ago and found the staff very helpful and accommodating. The room was adequate for our needs for an overnight stay. The bed was comfortable and we had a roomy room. Our request for additional pillows was complied with - ask and thou shalt receive - nice clean linen and the complimentary buffet breakfast met our needs. Value for money!

Room Tip: Off-street, undercover, secure parking was a bonus and the internal lift made life so much easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights last week ... Hotel clean and comfy but overpriced for what you get... Breaks was included but really wasn't a great selection on offer .. If I wanted home brand juice etc I could get my own ... Overall a nice place to rest for the night but no atmosphere and staff were rude .. Called to reception for an extra pillow and clearly I was disturbing the man that answered .. He made it pretty clear no pillow would be coming to us ... And it didn't ... Disappointing service really

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Booked in Feb as the offer included a day of Smart Car hire. I even contacted the office once o booked & requested the car for a certain day. Arrive & they say they don't have the cars anymore, haven't for months. Offered nothing to us as a sweetener, said take it up with the web site I booked with. And no soap for hand basin and no milk in the fridge. Won't book here again. Stayed at Breakfree on the esplanade last month, much better, they were friendly and helpful & a better location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Outdated hotel needs an upgrade . promised smart cars when I booked an online package for 7days staying at this hotel. when I asked where was the smart car I was told they were getting repaired. So I had to hire a car for a week. Was told by a rental car company the hotel cairns smart cars were sold WISH I WAS TOLD EARLIER AS I HAD BOOKED IN FEB TAKEN MY HOLIDAY IN JUNE AND IT COST ME A LOT MORE THAN I EXPECTED. I COULD HAVE BOOKED SOMEWHERE NICER.

Room Tip: Top room a bit quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here as part of a hotel package combined with the Pro Dive 5 day learn to dive course. We chose this hotel because we wanted to treat ourselves as we thought it would be really nice. The room was large and comfortable but the view wasn't very good. There was a pool but it was quite small so we only used it once. When we went down for breakfast on the first day we found out that breakfast wasn't included despite the fact I had checked this with the hotel in advance, they said we could pay for breakfast which was ridiculously expensive so we just went down the road to a nice place which overlooked the ocean. Overall we were a bit disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cairns, with its impeccably private and tropical ambience, is a 4 star resort hotel superbly positioned in the central business district of Cairns, one block from the famous Esplanade. Its architectural profile and exterior facade is one of the most beautiful examples of Queenslander heritage style, and is a popular talking point among many of the hotel’s visitors and guests. The hotel has undergone a complete remodeling and refurbishment to emerge as the classic accommodation of choice in Tropical North Queensland. Privately owned and operated by an Australian family, the Bakers, The Hotel Cairns is popular with international and domestic visitors and locals from the Cairns hinterland who appreciate quality and attention to detail. Set back from the street and well shaded by tropical trees and plants, The Hotel Cairns features a tour booking desk, a sparkling blue outdoor pool and spa, a modern, state of the art cardio gymnasium, a choice of function rooms, an onsite car park and a welcoming indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Plantation Bar & Grill. The Hotel Cairns is conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the Airport, and an easy 5 minutes walking distance to shops and eateries in Cairns’ CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.