We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheets not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkey Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Flying Monkey Backpackers to your Saves list
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flying Monkey Backpackers
89 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sheets not clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good location, opposite lagoon. Kitchen pretty big. We paid 25 dollars each for a twin room which was pretty good price.
However, the sheets were not clean and we were not really given the intro you sometimes get at hostels. Stuffy rooms. They tried to tell us we hadn't booked when we had, which I've seen happen to a couple of others on here. The worst part was that we booked an airport transfer for half 3 in the morning and paid a four dollar deposit to the hostel, the transfer never showed and we had no way of getting back in the hostel to ring them up. Probably the transfer company's fault rather than the hostels but was still rather frustrating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leoben, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent the most horrible night in this hostel! The 4dorm room itself was okay, but the air was really stuffy and opening the tiny window didn't help a bit. The mattresses were rather saggy and you could feel every spring in it. Additionally, there were bed bugs and the waterpipe on the floor must have been damaged in some way, so whenever someone used it, the water conduit that went right through our ceiling made a sound like a fire alarm! Of course this was probably only the cause in our room, but honestly, bed bugs are no fun! They crawl into your bags and your clothes as well and it is hard to get rid of them again.
Wifi didn't work when we were there.

On the good side the location is right next to the center. And it was cheap. Bathrooms were spacious and clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I am staying in flying monkeys for about a week now, and i will stay another week, till i leave Cairns. Felling almost at home there ;)
Staff is awesome, very nice people! You'll always find someone to have a chat with :)
You'll get free breakfast and free (although not good^^) wifi. The location is the best, you just step over the street, and are right at the ocean and the lagoon.
For a hostel it is a very clean place! free aircondition in the rooms, pool downstairs :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at Flying Monkey in the beginning of November 2013. Flying Monkey is a place of its own. The staff are really kind and funny... though, it seemed like the only person enployed who really knew what was going on was the Dutch guy in the reception. One of the receptionists came into our room on our first morning and told us we had to check out that day. We told her that we had booked 3 more nights and she just went "Aha, okay". The next morning two Swedish guys went to the reception and were told that it was their check-out day. They told the reception no, and when the receptionist looked another time it turned out they still had 2 more nights. The hygiene is non-existing - the house keeping girl barely opened our door and didn't even get the vacuum cleaner inside our room before closing the door again. And both the pool and the bath rooms didn't look properly cleaned... not to mention the kitchen facilities - they're absolutely horrible! But when all that's said, Flying Monkey is still a place I'd want to go back to because of the laid back atmosphere and the feeling of hakuna matata. Even though, it seemed like Little Stockholm when we stayed there - Swedish people everywhere! The voucher for Woolshed is a great offer and it's possible to get cheap tours!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at flying monkey for a few days the staff and manager are very nice and laid back making a friendly atmosphere in the hostel. There was lots going on some people having a drink and others watching films in the common room so there was always something to get involved in. my room was modern and clean and in a great location just a short walk from the lagoon and nightlife. I would definitely stay at this hostel again i found it much more welcoming than other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've been staying at the Flying Monkey Backpacker for 1 month now. It's a small backpacker right across from the Lagoon, in between the best frozen yogurt and coffee shops in town. There are a lot of long term backpacker at the Monkey, it creates a family type feel to the place. Everybody is nice and open minded, the staff threats you like friends, it's a very easy going type of place.

I love the Monday Night Movie Nights with free popcorn :)

The rooms are cozy, beds are alright, the A/C works great and you have the control on it in the room.

With free breakfast in the morning and voucher for free dinners at night, you can stay in Cairns for very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service at this hostel was probably the worst I have ever experienced. Half of the time there was nobody at the reception and if you asked for something they just gave the answer "reception is closed" even if the timetable said something different. They gave us no information about checkout or that we could get free breakfast and dinner (which we only found out on our last day). Our room was really small and we were not allowed to open the windows even if the smell in the room was really bad. The cleanliness was also teribble as the shower facilities were flooded all the time!
The only good thing about the hostel was the location, since is was situated directly on the Esplanade with only a short walking distance to all the clubs and the lagoon.

Don't stay here if you have another option!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Monkey Backpackers

Address: 89 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying Monkey Backpackers is located right in the center of Cairns and opposite the famous Esplanade Lagoon where you can throw down a towel and enjoy the sun or go for a refreshing swim. Room for two.... couples, lovers and friends... we are a small, well located hostel with mainly private rooms. With free airport pick-up, free light breakfast, free dinner, free WiFi plus being only a few minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Flying Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Monkey Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.