We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great curries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Nights

Tandoori Nights
209 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4041 6955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Alnwick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We sheltered here on a rainy night in Cairns towards the end of our vacation. The staff were friendly and the curries were excellent. One of the best meals we had during our time in Aus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    47
    19
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the first time we have eaten at Tandoori Nights, and we were very impressed! We had onion bhaji's and seekh kabab for a starter and it was very tasty. We then had chicken tikka massala and beef madras, jeera rice and keema naan! All very tasty, freshy cooked and aromatic! Best Indian meal we've had in years! The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Well priced, very good value. Would recommend a visit - we will be going again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because we were looking for a change (too much Chinese food in Cairns), and we're now wondering why we didn't try it before!
The butter chicken is FABULOUS, and the naans are delicious (we strongly recommend every customer to have the tasty cheese naans, which are definitely tasty!).
The waiter told us that the restaurant has changed owner and cook about a year ago, and that it has greatly improved its quality: we therefore advise people who went there before and were disappointed to give it another chance because it's GREAT!
The service was also great, and all the staff was very friendly.
One of the best indian food we've ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian restaurant - one of the best I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fantastic food! Well worth the visit. Highly recommend the onion bhaji and lamb biryani. Lovely welcoming service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and Awesome service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went for a dinner and their Biryani was the best I tasted for a long time, very aromatic. The mixed veggie was good as well. Service was superb as well.
We went the next day as well but it was not like that as on the first day but still very good. Better dine on this indian restaurant than anywhere else in Cairns if you are craving for indian food as we didnt have good experience with some other indian restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nights also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tandoori Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.