We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Wonthaggi, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great value and central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights 28,29,30 june. my room was clean with a comfortable bed and spotless bathroom with lovely thick towels . the hotel is in a very quiet location but only a short walk to the centre of cairns ,the two ladies in reception are very helpful and go out of their way to look after their guests [ some of the large hotel chains could take a few lessons from them on how to look after guests].this is a great hotel .if you do not require a gym or valet parking then you cant go wrong staying here, they also do a great light breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
not sure if your nom de plume matches your disposition, but I somehow do not think so, many thanks for your kind comments and compliments they really are appreciated
we are glad you enjoyed your time in Cairns, maybe we will see you again in Cairns some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    124
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
187
42
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as the first leg of our Queensland trip, and could not have been happier with our choice.

As other reviewers have noted, the staff (and especially the manager Rosemary) are wonderful. The service was personal and attentive. Directions, recommendations for restaurants, any other tips; nothing was too much trouble. Rosemary was very responsive to emails before we arrived and helpfully booked our shuttle for us.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, and generally everything you would expect of a motel in this price bracket. Free wifi for 2 hours, which obviously isn't great but was better than all the other accommodation we stayed at (and anyway when you're on holiday that's really all you need!).

The hotel is a little way out of the city centre, but I think that's preferable unless you want to be around a lot of noise and lights. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the Esplanade and only about 10-15 minutes walk to tons of restaurants and shops. Close enough to walk, or a cheap ~$10 taxi if you don't (and the taxis in Cairns seem amazingly prompt and efficient!).

We ate breakfast here both mornings; it's only $5 a day for a decent continental breakfast with plenty of cereal options, fruit, and sometimes (from the looks of it) little extras like mini croissants. Easy, and perfect when you don't want to waste time waiting in a cafe for a cooked breakfast.

Highly recommend, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
your comments and review were much appreciated, as you say we really are only a short distance form the esplanade and masses of restaurants etc.
hopefully the rest of your holiday was great and that you have returned home safely.
again many thanks from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I recently stayed at this property for four nights. My room was extremely comfortable and clean, with everything I needed. The hotel is in a quiet location - yet only a few minutes walk to the boardwalk which runs along the esplanade and which after a five minutes or so walk, enjoying the ocean view, takes you into the CBD.

Apart from the excellent accommodation, it is the wonderful staff - especially Rosemary, the extremely capable manager - who really make this property stand out. They are friendly and helpful and truly make you feel at home. When I asked Rosemary how I should best find my way to the Botanic Gardens she said it would be easier and quicker for me if she took me herself, which with great grace she did. Thank you also to Amber who helped me with some modern technology!

I recommend this property very highly to anyone visiting Cairns who wants a comfortable and pleasant stay at a most reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
many thanks for your comments, it was a pleasure to have met you, I will pass them on to the staff as well, glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you will return one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There is something cosy about this place. Its not super modern but its clean and comfortable, in a quiet restful spot away from the city. Still walking distance but a bit far. Lady at the counter was always helpful and gave honest advice rather than trying to 'sell' us tours for commission. Very much appreciated and made me feel very comfortable staying here. Also a microwave in the kitchen we were allowed to use - VERY handy to heat up our leftovers! Only downside as I mentioned was the walking distance to city restaurants as we ate out every meal and had no car. Despite that it was still a good choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Cairns, and for recognising us for what we are, we do look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family stayed here for one night, not only was it close to the esplanade (about 5min walk) it was lovely spacious and clean, the service was very friendly and the price was much cheaper than near by places, we will defiantly be staying here again next time, thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We do appreciate your comments, we do not pretend to be flash and up market, but yes we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

E-mails answered promptly, good follow up, friendly front desk staff. Rooms sized quite nicely. Small, quiet hotel.

Internet was free, but limited to time and requires an issued coupon. But in general, I faced a lot of this coupon, password-protected wi-fi in Australia. Quite annoying.

The room I booked had a queen bed in the main section of the room with dining table and kichenette, a smaller room with two singles. One bathroom.

The room was reasonably clean, a little bit dated. Only one remote control for 2 air conditioners in each of the rooms. It didn't work in the smaller room, had to manually press the on/off button.

Tiny balcony overlooking the roofs of other establishments.

The kichenette has a sink, microwave, fridge. Dish cloth, table cloth, sponge, washing detergent provided. An un-sharp knife, sad microwave cooking utensils provided. Eating utensils, plates, bowls etc provided. Altogether, I thought this was quite good.

Dining table very useful. Went to Ocean World Seafood, picked up a cold crab and enjoyed some fresh crab.

Parking on the street perpendicular to the street where the hotel fronts. But free street parking in front of hotel also available. Quiet street.

On first glance nothing near hotel, but turn around the corner and there is a Thai restaurant, I believe. At least one eating establishment.

Otherwise, walk about 15 minutes to the CBD for more options, or head toward Sheridan Street for less pricier options. Cairns Central within 10 minutes walking distance. 20-25 minutes walk to the Marina at least.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments, it is good to know how guests perceive us, and yes we are away from the Esplanade but most of our guests see this as an advantage, little noise and not as busy.
in terms of internet , yes this is the way things are done here, but the Cairns Council is considering extending their free wifi to a larger area which will delight most tourists.
again we do hope that your stay in Cairns will bring you back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked this motel based on it being ranked #2 hotel in Cairns (although I see now that it has fallen in its standing). Although the proprietor was nice (even giving us a ride to the marina to catch our ferry), this didn't make up for a number of other deficiencies. Although the room was large and clean, the hallways had a musty odor and the room looked worn and furniture cheap. View was of a tin roof and some other worn down buildings. The location, although quiet, didn't seem as though it was in the best part of town. There were few eating accommodations nearby and the marina appeared to be a hefty hike (possibly 20 minutes). I had thought breakfast was included, but was told it would be an extra $5. We decided to take a pass on this--and I'd suggest taking a pass on this motel unless you can get a very good rate there. Our rate was $155/night, and I'm sure we could have done better for this price elsewhere. I would recommend something closer to the marina, which is much more scenic and has many restaurant choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am not sure where you obtained the #2 rating, the Heritage has rated between #5&#6 for the past 2 years and this can easily be verified by looking up Trip Advisor. We do not profess to be a 4 or 5 star hotel (not a a motel) we rate 3.5 Stars and charge accordingly. You then make rash statements about cheap furniture which is nonsense, the odor in you describe are fairly normal in the tropics and have nothing to do with cleanliness, it is simply humidity.
You may not be aware, we do not rate hotels, it is done through AAA and in the case of Trip Advisor through our guests who continue to rate the Tropical Heritage in Cairns highly and as I said previously consistently.
May I suggest next time you write a review you should check your facts.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Shuttle bus between airport and hotel provided under contract, fees apply. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. Rosemary Robertson Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.