We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel EXCELLENT service !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small hotel EXCELLENT service !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is very basic. If all you need is a place is a place to sleep this is the place. No frills. But you will be very surprised at the exceptional service they provide. The staff go over and beyond doing what they can to make your stay comfortable and hospitable. And they are not fake about it. They are truly genuine about helping you with directions, advice, booking a tour, towels for a reef tour, etc. They know all they tricks of the town and went out of their way to help a couple of foreigners. The price was just right but the memory of being treated heavenly was priceless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Cairns Heritage and in Cairns, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    139
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
203
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed one night before boarding a live aboard dive boat. The staff could not have been nicer. They loaned us the towels needed for the boat even though we were not returning there after the dive trip (yes, we did return the towels!)
We booked two studios online and the staff contacted us to revise the booking to a suite with a connecting studio. Same price and more space. Very thoughtful.
They also suggested we eat at the RSL Club on the Esplanade - cheap eats in an otherwise pricey place.
The location is an easy walk to the Esplanade and town.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Heritage. Rosemary does go out of her way to provide the best service possible and this reflects in the consistently good reviews. Hope to see you in the future
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the harbor. The front desk was exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My only complaint was the breakfasts which were very bad. There were plenty of good breakfast places five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you're looking for a high class, pricey, hotel, this is not the one to choose.
If you're looking for a very friendly, charming, convenient, and "mom's apple pie" type hotel, this is it.
We were very happy with the personal attention of the staff, the helpfulness, and the friendliness of the staff. It was more of a Bed & Breakfast type stay, versus a hotel.
The general Manager even gave us a free ride to our Great Barrier Reef tour on the morning of our tour.
Sometimes, you just want to see more of the personal side of a city when you're traveling and on vacation, and the Tropical Heritage staff added that touch

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments, as you say, we are not the high price hotels, but we do try to give our guests a "local" experience and ensure that they remember Cairns positively.
hopefully you may return some day and we can look after you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is only a ten minute walk to the boardwalk/esplanade... Quietly located, which is a bonus since central Cairns can be quite busy/noisy. It is clean, and well run.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess - Rosemary? - who took us in her car to our various pick-up points. Thank you. Conclusion - Try it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to provide the best in service and value , and whilst we are not on the Esplanade, as you say we have a quiet location , close to everything, plus you can get a good sleep.
we are glad you enjoyed Cairns, hopefully you will return one day.
Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the boardwalk and only ten mins from the airport. Good value in comparison to other hotels in the area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. They catered very well for my wife's gluten free diet at breakfast which is a standard breakfast if cereals, fruit etc.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased rosemary again has been of assistance with special gluten free breakfast for your wife and look forward to you visiting Cairns again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

but we stayed for five because we fell in love with Cairns and the wonderful Tropical Heritage. Rosemary was so friendly and made our stay even more special.
I would recommend the Heritage to anyone who's going to Cairns. Two blocks from the busy Esplanade, it's an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for one with outside access so you can sit outside and have a cool drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for the review, it will make Rosemary very happy to hear yu enjoyed your stay of 5 nights at the Heritage.
I am in Cairns tonight on a rare visit, Cyclone ITA also in town with stories of potential devastation - well it did not happen, it looks like a fizzer, at least in Cairns, a little wind, rain but to date nothing more than a tropical storm that will pass quite quickly so if yu are planning visit to Cairns do not be out off by all the media attention and visit us again.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.