We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable, solid place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Save Saved
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very hospitable, solid place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the harbor. The front desk was exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My only complaint was the breakfasts which were very bad. There were plenty of good breakfast places five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    110
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
175
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you're looking for a high class, pricey, hotel, this is not the one to choose.
If you're looking for a very friendly, charming, convenient, and "mom's apple pie" type hotel, this is it.
We were very happy with the personal attention of the staff, the helpfulness, and the friendliness of the staff. It was more of a Bed & Breakfast type stay, versus a hotel.
The general Manager even gave us a free ride to our Great Barrier Reef tour on the morning of our tour.
Sometimes, you just want to see more of the personal side of a city when you're traveling and on vacation, and the Tropical Heritage staff added that touch

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments, as you say, we are not the high price hotels, but we do try to give our guests a "local" experience and ensure that they remember Cairns positively.
hopefully you may return some day and we can look after you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is only a ten minute walk to the boardwalk/esplanade... Quietly located, which is a bonus since central Cairns can be quite busy/noisy. It is clean, and well run.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess - Rosemary? - who took us in her car to our various pick-up points. Thank you. Conclusion - Try it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to provide the best in service and value , and whilst we are not on the Esplanade, as you say we have a quiet location , close to everything, plus you can get a good sleep.
we are glad you enjoyed Cairns, hopefully you will return one day.
Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the boardwalk and only ten mins from the airport. Good value in comparison to other hotels in the area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. They catered very well for my wife's gluten free diet at breakfast which is a standard breakfast if cereals, fruit etc.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased rosemary again has been of assistance with special gluten free breakfast for your wife and look forward to you visiting Cairns again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

but we stayed for five because we fell in love with Cairns and the wonderful Tropical Heritage. Rosemary was so friendly and made our stay even more special.
I would recommend the Heritage to anyone who's going to Cairns. Two blocks from the busy Esplanade, it's an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for one with outside access so you can sit outside and have a cool drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for the review, it will make Rosemary very happy to hear yu enjoyed your stay of 5 nights at the Heritage.
I am in Cairns tonight on a rare visit, Cyclone ITA also in town with stories of potential devastation - well it did not happen, it looks like a fizzer, at least in Cairns, a little wind, rain but to date nothing more than a tropical storm that will pass quite quickly so if yu are planning visit to Cairns do not be out off by all the media attention and visit us again.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, WI
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a very nice experience during at stay at the Topical Heritage. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were a 10 minute walk to the Esplanade. Our room was a nice size for 3 people and always clean and pleasant. A nice continental breakfast was available for only $5. It is not a 5 star place, but you don't pay that for one, either.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Heritage, as you say we do not pretend to be a 5 star hotel, our rating is 3.5 stars and we offer affordable rates as an example the continental breakfast you enjoyed fir $5.
We look forward to seeing your again in the bear future.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family stayed here for one night during our 10 days in Australia. It met our basic needs but was too expensive for what it delivered. Room were quite ordinary and the facility appeared quite old. It was a little ways away from the dining and shopping areas and the location did not seem like a "high rent" district. For what we paid (over $200 a night for a 2 room apartment in the off season) I expected more. I probably would not stay here again if there were other choices.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We appreciate all reviews. In regard to premium rates you are quote wrong. Yes there are some motels offering very basic accom from $65, some of the larger international hotels are discounting accom to maintain liquidity and selling well below operational costs due to volatile market at present but you will find that most respectable hotels, such as the Tropical Heritage is offering a fair tariff based on the type of hotel, the cleanliness, attentive staff, location and our willingness to go well beyond what is expected. The tariff we are charging barely covers cost, in fact at present below cost.
We are very appreciative of the many positive comments made by our guests on Trip Advisor praising the Tropical Heritage and rating it #6 out of 69 hotels in Cairns which is a little different from the review you have published.
Kind regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Shuttle bus between airport and hotel provided under contract, fees apply. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. Rosemary Robertson Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.