We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with another couple. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the Esplanade and all the restaurants. Rooms were fine and the staff was great.
Rosemary helped us with all tours and details. We would definitely stay here if we return to Cairns. Cute little breakfast room was very adequate

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    124
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
187
42
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Because we had lived in Papua New Guinea, my adult daughters and I decided to stay at the Tropical Heritage Cairns - we were not disappointed. We could have chosen a multi-storey apartment block with a bevy of assistants, but a smaller, unpretentious boutique hotel sounded more appealing. Apart from the obvious PNG touches such as artefacts and photographs, there was the wonderful Manager, Rosemary, who had lived in PNG for a number of years, plus her lovely assistants some of whom hail from PNG. Rosemary could not have been more helpful - she gave us very good advice on how to make the most of our stay in Cairns. She pre-booked the most suitable Barrier Reef full-day trip for us, and also organised a hire car from a trusted company which collects guests from the hotel and drops them back at the end of the 24 hour period. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms and kitchenette well-equipped, and the beds very comfortable. Rosemary presented us with a carton of fresh milk each evening, without being asked. We did not mind the easy, level walk to the Esplanade with its cafes, restaurants and bustling night-life. Being two blocks away from the Esplanade, the Hotel is very quiet. To us it was like a home away from home. Anyone with a PNG connection would find it a treat to be with 'wantoks' again. We would love to return one day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's not fair to compare this hotel/motel with more upmarket and expensive hotels. You get good value for money with rooms of a good size and staff who are helpful and friendly. Yes it's getting a bit older and even a little tired but it was better than I expected. The help yourself continental breakfast was damn good value and there was more than enough choice. The air-conditioning in the rooms worked a treat and the bathrooms were all clean. It's a short walk to the boardwalk and into town so its well placed. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were greeted by friendly, homely staff at reception, but the rooms did not live up to reception we received. Although the rooms were quite large, the overall quality was just average. They were clean, but old furnishings and tired decor made for an average appearance. The two bedroom room was air conditioned, but one unit was only operating its cooling at a very low output and was faulty. The rooms were not cheap and were not good value for money. Probably not a great place to spend a romantic night.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting the key
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for writing your review although your definition of a Motel and Hotel differ completely. A motel is normally along a highway or main road where vehicles can drive right up to the door and ideally suited for people who want the convenience of their own car within close proximity to their room.
The Tropical Heritage Hotel, is NOT a motel. It is a well designed 3 storey building designed to provide good quality accommodation at an affordable rate. We do not promote the Heritage as a 5 star hotel, it is a 3.5 star hotel. I am sorry you are confused over the difference of motel and hotel.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent five lovely days in Cairns and the Tropical Heritage Cairns and their excellent Manager Rosemary made our stay most enjoyable. The advice given was suitable to our needs from restaurants to local attractions. The room was comfortable and met our needs quite well. A short walk to the beautiful Boardwalk and many restaurants.

Thank you Rosemary for making our holiday a wonderful thing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were tossing up whether to book a Hotel right on the foreshore or book the Tropical Heritage. We chose the Tropical Heritage because we like smaller, more friendly, individual, boutique hotels...not the huge, sterile ones. And...we Certainly made the RIGHT decision. This Hotel is PERFECT in every way! Only 2 blocks back from the Esplanade the location was brilliant...close to the cafes and restaurants, the Esplanade, the Reef terminal ... and it was so, so quiet. The rooms were extremely comfortable, incredibly spacious, very comfortable beds, we had a kitchenette (which was brilliant), spacious bathrooms, very good lighting, cupboards and storage, air-con, free car parking, very nicely decorated with a warm, friendly, welcoming feel. And then there is Rosemary, the Manager...what a Gem...she was so incredibly helpful and friendly...helped us with tours, booked a car for us, gave us loads of information on what to do in and around Cairns. (The car company picked us up and took us to their office to pick up the car and then picked the car back up from the Hotel --- how easy is that !!!) Nothing was too hard or a problem. She is real asset to the Hotel and it's guests. We Loved our stay and we can't wait to return. A Big Huge Thank you to Rosemary and all the Staff.

Room Tip: Didn't use the restaurant...so haven't rated it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As previous reviewers wrote before, Rosemary makes the stay at Tropical Heritage so special. She was doing everything she could to make sure that our holiday goes well. This includes a lot of valuable information, tour booking, suite upgrade and even she gave us a ride to our tour starting point - and always with big friendly smile. High
Y recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Shuttle bus between airport and hotel provided under contract, fees apply. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. Rosemary Robertson Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.