We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wimborne, Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Rosemary was very helpful and let us into our room early - as we'd just arrived direct from UK this was much appreciated. The room was very comfortable and all the staff were very friendly. We were there at the same time as several Pastors from Papua New Guinea which made things interesting as we used to work there and made us feel nostalgic! It is a pleasant, intimate hotel and I'd thoroughly recommend it. The wifi was satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    138
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
203
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Visited Heritage as a young couple traveling our honeymoon. One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was that it was supposed to have the WiFi connection. Truly, it had, but it was of such a poor quality (interrupting and falling connection), that it was literally not usable.

On the other hand, everything else was very good, especially nice lady at the reception.

Would recommend, just don't rely on the WiFi ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review you stay at the Tropical Heritage Cairns, I am pleased you were happy with your stay and sorry that the WiFi was not working the best during your stay. There was a fault which has been rectified. I would also like to add that the Heritage provide free internet access for the first 2 hours and the fialure you report was the only time the system has been down. There is also a PC with internet access in the foyer that was working and again it is free for guests.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We only stayed 1 night so I'm not able to give a full review.
However rosemary was impeccable. She booked us ahead of arriving on the half day cruise and drove us down to the dock to start our trip.
Location wise we didn't do the walk from the esplanade to the hotel as it was raining heavily but the immediate area seemed pleasant enough, quiet and next to a Mormon church!
Our room was basic with a little balcony but perfectly clean with a bizarrely low shower head!
I'd love to be able to review the pool and breakfast but we didn't have time for either.
I found the attached living quarters of the onsite family quite strange as you can see straight through into the sitting room!
It's a hotel for budget travellers but was fine for us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, just one correction, there is no Mormon (CHurch of the Latter Day Saints) beside the Heritage. The church is a beautifully designed and maintained historical Anglican Church. The location of Heritage provides easy access to the Cairns Base Hospital, the Cairns Private hospital, Explanade with numerous restaurants.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the assistance provided by Rosemary and her fantastic staff!
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Heritage Cairns is a great little hotel a few blocks from the Esplanade in Cairns. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. Rosemary had great suggestions for things to do and even drove us to the pier to drop us off for our scuba diving trip. She really takes an interest in all of the guests and how they're enjoying their trip.

The hotel itself is small, clean, and comfortable. It's not a new property or an ultra luxury resort, but it's a great value and the staff will really help you have the best possible trip to Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette hill, pa, usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Heritage Cairns is a very nice hotel. The rooms are spacious, the air-conditioning is powerful (a very important issue when the humidity is close to 100%!), the showers have strong water-pressure, and it is very clean. I don’t know how old the hotel is, but it has been kept up very well.
However, what really struck us was the amazing care that Rosemary who either owns or runs the place takes care of her guests.
She arranged the shuttle service to take us to the airport when I e-mailed her from Port Douglas, and suggested the appropriate time for it. Then, when we got to Cairns in the evening, we had arranged for the bus service to drop our luggage off at the hotel while we went to Kuranda, and the luggage was waiting for us when we got there.
We were tired when we got there, and did not feel like going out to dinner, nor were we in the mood for a large takeaway meal, so we asked if there was a convenience store/mini market nearby that she could direct us to. Imagine our surprise when she volunteered to take us to one, as it was going to rain, and she did not want us to get wet! She drove us there, waited for us to shop, and then drove us back, entertaining us with all kinds of stories about Cairns and people. Then, to top it off, she asked if we like mangos, and when she found out that I had grown up in India, she went back behind her office and came out with a huge mango and an enormous knife. It was such a large, juicy, tasty mango, that I had just it for dinner, sharing a slice with my wife, who knows I love mangos!
The next day, while we were waiting for the shuttle, she and her staff kept us entertained and in stitches with their stories, to the point where I was sorry when the bus showed up.
We only spent one night in Cairns, but we will always remember Rosemary at the Heritage Cairns!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were travelling as a family so booked two rooms at this hotel and stayed for only one night as we were moving on to Port Douglas the next day.
Everything was easy and the staff were really helpful and suggested some great restaurants for us that proved to be exactly what we were after.
Location is great - a short walk to the shops or restaurants. The rooms were nice and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel lives up to its high rating on TripAdvisor. The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom was massive and in immaculate condition.
There's a pool on site that's sheltered from the sun for those who want to escape the heat and humidity.
Wireless Internet is available at this hotel and you can get 2 hours complementary and above that, you'll need to purchase time. I never used the full 2 hours as I was only at the hotel to sleep.
The hotel does provide a breakfast, at a cost of $8.50 and had cereals, toast, juices, etc. I opted to head to one of the many cafes on the Esplanade, which is a short walk. As Cairns is not that big, virtually everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Hotel staff were great at providing directions to various places in the town.
The airport is on the northern part of town and a taxi to the hotel was just over $20. There is a shuttle service that the hotel can arrange and can be cheaper, depending on the number of guests.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Shuttle bus between airport and hotel provided under contract, fees apply. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. Rosemary Robertson Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.