We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Thank you Rosemary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Heritage Cairns to your Saves list
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Thank you Rosemary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We absolutely loved the Heritage Cairns! We stayed a total of three nights. First, one night and then we went to stay on a live-aboard boat on the Great Barrier Reef. Second, two nights when we returned from the Reef trip. The manager, Rosemary was wonderful! She drove us to the marina the morning we left for the Reef and let us store our suitcases with her while we were gone. She booked our Kuranda excursion and offered to drive us to the train station. We decided to take the Skyrail to Kuranda first, so she arranged for the shuttle bus to pick us up at the hotel. She also booked our shuttle to Port Douglas. All of her services were at no extra charge. She really made us feel welcome and she seemed genuinely happy to see us when we returned. The rooms we stayed in were very nice and extremely clean. The location is great---about a five minute walk to the Esplanade. We liked being a couple of blocks away from the Esplanade as the Heritage Cairns was in a very quiet location. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Cairns. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    138
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
203
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent 7 days at the Heritage and received wonderful service - more than one usually receives at hotels/motels. Credit to the manageress who provided useful information about trips, and ensured that we had a good time. She even travelled some distance to collect a mobile phone that was left on the bus after a trip. By the time we returned from the next day's outing, there was the mobile waiting for us-thank you Rosemary. The Hotel was well positioned - about 10minutes walk from the centre of Cairns and an easy walk along a large esplanade. There were cafes and restaurants close by and it was always peaceful at night. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a warm and friendly environment-most relaxing. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Heritage is the most comfortable and warm place I have ever stayed at. Rosemary who managed the Heritage takes no time in making you feel welcome. From helping my husband and me to arrange for the Reef Experience to making sure we had fruits and milk in the room, Rosemary was there all through. She even ensured we had a room where my husband could walk out in case he needed to smoke. She didn't approve of him smoking though :-)

Heritage is also a 10 minute walk from the Esplanade where we spent both our nights at Cairns. The Reef Experience also picked us up from the hotel which was very convenient. Do take the shuttle bus to the airport. It is way cheaper. Rosemary will help you arrange for all of these.

I would recommend Heritage to anyone who visits Cairns and I hope that I can go back there someday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Heritage for 3 nights and there's absolutely nothing to complain about. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to the Esplanade - I would say 5-10 minutes - and I want to make a note that it's good it's not closer, otherwise noise would be a problem (when you have lots of pubs and restaurants around).
But the best of all is Rosemary. She is the manager of the hotel and is a lovely lady who will help you whenever and whatever you need. Always in a good mood and ready to suggest or book tours if you want.
We had a great experience and will certainly stay in the Heritage again if we return to Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at The Heritage for 3 days either side of our holiday in the Cape York Peninsular. Rosemary the manager was very helpful and attentive whenever we needed advice. The rooms were good, particularly the Spa bath room that we had on our return. It is also very useful to have a free internet access on the lobby PC. the only downside was that the very small pool and spa were very cold. It is conveniantly situated close to some interesting restaurants and only blocks away from the Esplanade. Then only a little way from there to the very nice (and warmer lagoon).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Had a very good stay. Manager is a lovely lady who will ensure your needs a met wherever possible. Very convenient location. Nice walk to the esplanade and downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just love Cairns! The Great Barrier Reef is certainly the most predominant feature in the region, though there is much to do here. The Esplannade is a terrific place to eat, hang-out, grab a swim in the currently frosty community pool or people-watch.

The Heritage is a bit dated, though the rooms are roomy and well-provided. Location is a bit off the Esplannade and most things thereon, but only a 1km walk or so to most things.

Rosemary is so helpful and friendly and will arrange anything you need.

Would recommend arranging a shuttle to/from the airport rather than a taxi - as it is only $10 each way, if not renting a car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast when full room rate applies. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Shuttle bus between airport and hotel provided under contract, fees apply. Taxi service is available approx $25 each way. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. Rosemary Robertson Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Heritage Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.