We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, clean and addressing all basic needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Sheridan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Sheridan to your Saves list
City Sheridan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money, clean and addressing all basic needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and was very satisfied. It is on the main road but we have requested a room on the quiet part of the complex during booking and it was honored. According to staff, the new owners took over in December 09 and have renovated. The room was very clean and had all the basic needs. Comfortable bed and amenities, a nice tv with austar and a very friendly staff. The room service menu is basic but we tried their BLT and the food was tasty and size was generous. Only 10 minute walking distance to the Esplanade and it costs 7 -9 dollars if you take a cab back from the Esplanade. We would definetely recommend it to anyone who needs a convenient, comfortable and affordable accommodation in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    67
    60
    32
    18
See reviews for
31
86
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at City Sheridan for 7 nights, and we were more than pleased with our accommodation, nothing is to much trouble for the staff who always have a smile and a hello, we would definitly stay there again and would recommend to our friends and the food is pretty good aswell.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Spent 9 nights. Close enough to city centre and Esplanade but not noisy. Good value. Room with 3 comfortable single beds on 3rd floor with balcony and view of saltwater pool and pretty waterfall. Free wi-fi but didn't work in room, only lobby. Has washing machine, dryer on main floor (A$3 each per load). No elevator, alarm clock was broken, tiny ants, shower encroached on toilet. Didn't find restaurant was good value. Free parking but very tight parking places for rented Camry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The staff were helpful and very friendly. The room was neat, clean with all the facilities including a microwave. I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by the City Sheridan. It is obvious that some refurbishment has been undertaken and the care and attention shows. The rooms are very clean and serviced daily. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate - nice big shower roses which I love! Each room has a balcony. I found the service friendly and fast, the food from the onsite restaurant was fantastic, I can't complain about anything apart from it needs a bigger fridge in the rooms with an adequate freezer (I like to buy ice creams and frozen meals to cut my costs and there was nowhere to put these, even though a microwave is in the rooms). The free WiFi in all rooms was great! Although situated on a main road in Cairns, I found this didn't really impact on the peace and quiet. Great location only five minutes from the Esplanade and five minutes from Cairns Central. Would highly recommend this motel for a relaxing, value for money stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The staff were great and made you feel welcome. They assisted with booking tours and provided local information.
Doors to some of the rooms were very noisy and slammed loadly throughout the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tocumwal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the City Sheridan for 2 nights when we arrived in Cairns. We got a very warm welcome from Alisha who helped with all our enquiries & just made us feel that we wanted to stay & chat for a while. We got to our room which was very clean, comfortable & had everything we needed with the added view of looking out over the pool & restaurant area. We arrived late at night the restaurant was ready for closing but it was no problem for them to feed us, with a delicious meal & nothing was too much trouble. This is where we met Kelly who was very helpful, freindly & very informative about anything we wanted to about our first time experience in Cairns. We were only away for a week & were supposed to be staying for the rest of the week in Port Douglas but we ended up only staying there for 2 nights & we came back to the City Sheridan for the rest of our holiday, even the cleaning staff were freindly & helpful. Thank you Kelly & Alisha & all the staff at City Sheridan, we would definately recommend your Inn to anybody & if I ever get back to Cairns for a holiday thats where we will be staying.
The Extons.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sheridan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.