We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own Toilet Roll!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Sheridan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Sheridan to your Saves list
City Sheridan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Bring your own Toilet Roll!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at the City Sheridan for 1 night in July and this is what we found:

- Check-in was fast and efficient - they had our room ready even at 11.30am before the usual check-in time which was convenient.
- Room is large size but somewhat dark for during the day unless the lights were kept on. Room, although reasonably neat and clean, felt somewhat a little sad and in need of some upkeep.
- Bed is on wheels so kept moving if someone accidentally bumped it on the side which was quite annoying.
- When we checked in during the day they were doing some loud renovation work nearby with drilling and hammering so we went out for the rest of the day...
- Bathroom had this strange buzzing noise continually coming out of it as if someone was constantly shaving all day and night long!!! Noticed it in particular after a trip to the bathroom in the middle of the night then was unable to sleep from 3am due to this weird ongoing buzzing noise...
- The toilet paper - !!! - was so thin you needed masses of it to use it!!! I think we had to use up a whole roll just for the two of us for 1 night!!!
- Room has free WIFI which worked well. Password was given together with room key so you don't have to ask for it.
- Staff were mediocre - had the impression they would answer standard questions but wouldn't go out of their way for anything further. We had booked an airport shuttle to go to the airport the next day and when the shuttle was 12 min late, we asked if there was a number the driver could be contacted on to see how far away they were in case we needed to just get a cab, but receptionist just shrugged and said they could be up to 15-20 min late, whereas when we booked they said shuttle could be 10-15min late... For an airport shuttle this is not good!!! There should at least be some communication to let people know where things are up to and to go to plan B if required!
- TV, fan and air conditioner don't work unless you turn them on at the bedside. I found the air conditioner to be quite noisy but luckily we didn't need to use it.
- Location - just a street crossing away from the Flying Monkey Cafe which has good coffees and relatively cheap simple breakfast meals. Also not too far from the shopping centre or esplanade. Also close to several car rental companies as well.

Overall the stay was pretty average and we mostly booked it as it was cheap and close to where we had to drop off the hire car before heading back out to the airport the next day... Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    52
    27
    17
See reviews for
28
80
31
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staff are okay, but emails sent not acknowledged or answered. However on arrival, they did refer to e-mail, so they received it, just couldn't be bothered to answer it.

When I booked it was still the Best Western on the website etc, but since then not.

The upkeep of the hotel requires more attention. It is fairly clean, but not very clean. I prefer the block of rooms that are attached to the reception as the access to rooms are internal. The other block's stairs are external and facing the street.

A small microwave is in the room, which is convenient. Hot Kettle, tea, coffee included.

It was a triple share room, and average sized for two, but too small for three. A little dining table with two chairs included. Chairs and a little table for balcony.

Third bed on wheels kept moving as they only put two stopping plates under two wheels.

Provision of linens etc was inconsistent. Shower cap provided on first day, but not the rest. One day, we had two packets of shower gel and no shampoo. And all-in-all, they provided only one of each for three guests, which is too little. Sometimes there was a hand towel, sometimes not.

Internet free and computer complained it couldn't connect, but the Internet actually worked. The signal was weak for computer, but for mobile phones no problem.

There is a small carpark attached, pool and BBQ facilities, laundry ($3/load). However, since nothing is provided, the BBQ is virtually unuseable unless you travel with a set of cooking utensils.

Hotel needs to pay more attention to housekeeping.

Average all around, but all in all, a much more worthwhile deal than the Adobe Motel and slightly closer to town. Better parking facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I can't comment on the motel's amenities as we didn't get to stay there. On our arrival we were told they were fully booked, despite us having an email from them confirming our booking. They did find us somewhere else but somewhat reluctantly. We had the impression it was not their problem.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful and all the information they offered was helpful (including good local restaurants).

The location of the this property is ok. It's a good 15-20 walk to the popular parts of Cairns nightlife (Esplanade, Casino, Night Markets). The only real issue is the road noise as the location is on a busy highway. If you're a heavy sleeper this wont bother you.

the rooms were okay - although the bathrooms are in need of some serious maintenance.

Overall - it is a comfortable stay - but you could get better closer to the city centre.

Room Tip: All tile floors - so level 3 rooms are quieter. Lower level rooms you can furniture being moved upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place is clean and friendly. Staff were helpful and all rooms include a balcony. I pre booked it and the rate was only $75 per night for a double room for 2 nights. (This might go up a bit in the very high season). The It's not too far out of the action of Cairns Esplanade. It's an easy 15 minute walk. I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Sheridan_Motel, Manager at City Sheridan, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hello Karen,

We thank you for taking your time with your feedback.

Rates will rise slightly through peak season, but we will always do our best to stay the best value hotel in cairns. $75-$80 for low season, and will keep it around $90-$95 for peak season.

Appreciate your feedback.

Chris.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for a motorcycle rally, the pool was good , rooms kept clean and the location was good for a moderate priced motel, an easy walk to the esplanade (about 10-15mins)
and on the main highway to head up to Port Douglas etc.
A lot of the other motels along this stretch of road seemed very old and tired from the outside

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Sheridan_Hotel, Manager at City Sheridan, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hello David

We thank you for taking the time to write your review. All feedback we take serious. We are always looking at ways to improve our hotel for future guests.

Regards

Chris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konin, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Average hotel, no lift, poor breakfast, small pool, not very clean rooms, friendly stuff tho. Nothing special. 10-15min walking distance to the downtown area and TARGET center. Nothing to eat around except Dominos pizza. U can find better deal.

Room Tip: Nosiy from the street, better from the pool site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sheridan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.