We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel - Stay somewhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Sheridan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Sheridan to your Saves list
City Sheridan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel - Stay somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Looks ok from the outside. Guy on reception was not rude but just uninterested. I felt like my checking in was an inconvenience. Room was just bearable. Tiles were sticky underfoot, there was hair in the shower and the microwave…omg. There was some sort of spilt food left in there for who knows how long, but the smell was horrible. It still makes me dry retch when I think of it.
Also the bed sheets had a weird odour… Not nice.
Had booked 2 nights but left after the first and am now staying at the Comfort Inn around the corner…. so much better. Avoid this hotel like the plague….cause you might just catch it if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
28
82
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days to visit Cairns. The motel is oke. Like I said, nothing special. Small rooms, sufficient if you just sleep here, room is clean! Poor breakfast for AuUD$ 15. Better walk to the village to grab a bite. Small pool, bottom not that clean. Laundry services avaialble.
Keep in mind that it is about 25 minutes walking to the tourist area of Cairns. There are some small shops in the neighbourhood, we have paid AUD$ 80 per night. Fair price for this accomodation.

We were here during Australia day and it seems its a oublic holiday. Fine with me, but hotel and reception area are closed most of the day. No roomcleaning. Stange for a hotel. Life goes on even on public holidays.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I liked the place, will absolutely stay here on my next trip to Cairns. My room was simple and clean witch was exactly what I wanted. The veranda was an unexpected bonus. Got great help with planning day trips. The best of all was Rebecca, who must be the fastest-running hardest-working person in the Australian tourist industry. Always with a real big smile, and a big real smile it was. Already planning to fly from Norway to come back to this place. Thanks for taking so good care of me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in 2 bedroom room in December for two nights and upon arrival the service was great. we were given an early check-in by lovely receptionist which was very good after long trip. room was very clean, tidy and have no complaints at all. great price for a hotel not too far from the esplanade! would stay here again!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom room was great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I checked in to this Best Western after curtailing a two week long camping trip, thanks to a heat wave that was baking FNQ. Upon approaching the receptionists' counter, we should have immediately been turned off to the place by the filthy aquarium gracing the front office. The receptionist checked us in, but mistakenly only booked us for a single night instead of four.

A few minutes later, when we went up to our room, we were glad she had made that little mistake, as our bathroom smelled quite foul. I'm tempted to say here exactly how it smelled, but my description likely wouldn't meet Tripadvisor.com's standards of decency.

It being a hot day, we decided to grab a few beers and take a dip in the pool. That turned out to be a bad idea, as the saltwater pool was not only uncomfortably warm, but also full of leaf litter and green algae.

After stewing in the pool for a few minutes, we decided it was a good idea to scrub our bodies clean in the shower. Whilst doing a bit of washing up in the sink, I noticed that the soap running down the drain was resurfacing...up and out of the drain in the floor. Shortly thereafter we went to sleep, and dreamt of the hour soon to come when we might check out of that rancid hotel and find more pleasant lodging.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere. Continue a block or so down the street and stay at the Aspect Central Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Apparently had no rooms available and my family and i had already booked. These guys and rainbow inn are owned by the same guy, they told us to go to rainbow inn... Very bad.. Had to yse 4 hours of our time to find another hotel. Terrible. This is some sort of scam, rainbow inn would have to be the worst hotel im cairns.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was a little worried after reading the mixed reviews of this place, but for us these worries were unfounded when we arrived and we had a good couple of nights here.

The room we were placed in was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and new and clean (perhaps recently updated?) Working air con and fans, nice big TV.
It's not the Hilton but it surpassed our expectations and we've stayed in much worse motels!

Location is a little out of town but no problem if you're ok with a 20 minute walk.

Really good value for money considering the other reviews and there is a really great little vegetarian/kitsch cafe across the road with a lovely little handmade shop which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sheridan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.