We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Sheridan

Save Saved
You added City Sheridan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Sheridan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is poor. The staff is OK. The location is average, a little bit far from the oceanfront and from the best area in Cairns. It worths just because the price. No elevator. There´s a small pool and a restaurant. Nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_Sheridan_Motel, Manager at City Sheridan, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us in August.

Regarding our location, we are 3 blocks (3 minutes) walk to the Esplanade, and about 15 minutes from the CBD of Cairns. Depending on what time of year it is, this can be a location of inconvenience, but as you have also mentioned, the price more than makes up for the location. One block closer to the esplanade rates can rise as much as 30%-200%. We are priced to allow people to have a great choice of value motel.

As for the pool, it is not of great size, but is very clean, and well maintained, and the restaurant we see fits the personal touch of the motel, it maybe small, but I feel is comfortable for a traveller or corporate. We have a great menu, and chef to suite. If there is any further feedback that will help us improve for future guests, please let us know, as we do take all feedback seriously.

Best regards

Chris Jorgensen
Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns.
0740 513555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
25
72
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A late review! We stayed overnight in December 2011. We wanted a place not too far from airport for us (couple) and our son and his friend who were travelling overseas next day. Husband and self had a large well-equipped room with fridge, sofa and balcony. Son and friend were in a connecting twin-room next door. Their room was slightly smaller, but still had all amenities, fridge, tv, balcony etc. Wifi reception was initially poor, but after contacting management they quickly sorted out the problem. There were some minor maintenance problems (blown light bulbs etc which should have been picked up by housekeeping prior to our arrival), but these minor hassles were quickly sorted out. We got a good rate for the connecting rooms, we all got a free drink voucher and breakfast was included. We had an enjoyable meal at the restaurant which was reasonably priced. Also, takeaways, bottleshop, and eat-in restaurants close-by if you need them. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We did NOT have the best room at the hotel and, yet, I was still satisfied by the value we received.

Pros:
– Room was clean
– Bed was adequately comfortable
– Coffee, tea, creamer, etc. were provided and replenished daily
– Refrigerator (always a nice amenity)
– Private balcony
– In-room safe available (Note: we were told there was a charge for use of the safe but they offered it to us for free – don’t know why)
– Wireless internet connection was very good
– Fair and reasonable price

Cons:
– Room seemed a bit worn / dated
– Many balconies (including ours) face parking lot
– Limited on-site parking available but access to certain spots a challenge (I wouldn’t even want to attempt maneuvering in and out of some of the spaces).
– Location was just okay. Not sure if this can be blamed on hotel since I found the entire city of Cairns to be . . . um . . . well, let’s just say I was glad when our 2-day stay was over.

This is not the greatest hotel in the world, by far. But, if I measure the pros and cons above against the price we paid, then the City Sheridan still rates as a very good value. I have no regrets about staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights 16th-22nd July
We had the family room which was clean and serviced everyday
The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times
The queen bed mattress was very uncomfortable on arrival...After mentioning to the staff it was changed to a much more comfy one .
The pool was OK and my children swam in it a few times
The location was OK 10 minute easy walk into town
local bus just around the corner
overall a good value for money stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in Cairns and was very happy with it. The room was a good size and very clean. The girl at reception (Alisha) was extremely helpful and friendly. We booked tours through reception which were excellent too. There is free wifi in the hotel and a nice little pool. The location is grand, just a short walk to the esplanade. Great value for your money, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was my ninth trip to Australia and although I had stayed in the top-end previously (eg - Darwin), I had never been in Cairns for any length of time (only changing planes at the airport). I chose Cairns because Australia has become very expensive to visit and the price of this hotel was reasonable (AUD 76 per night) and I ended up staying for 18 nights. This hotel has fairly good reviews on Trip Advisor, but I had some issues.
First the good: (a) Things are easy to walk to (including the harbour). I`m 67 years old and had no problem walking everywhere. Come on folks . . . quit complaining. (b) Excellent flat panel TV`s with perfect reception and a good channel selection (c) Their restaurant food is very good. However, there`s a sign out on the street advertising `Locals eat for half price`. In other words, let`s hose the hotel guests. The menu choices are limited and are not cheap. (d) Wifi - yes it did crap out occasionally and had to be reset, but it was very fast (I could stream videos on my iPad) and it was free! (d) Good, helpfull staff (Jenny and Alicia)
Now . . the bad: (a) very limited guest parking (I cancelled my rental car reservation because there would be no where to park at night (b) the room AC units are old and some are VERY noisy. (c) There are ants and beetles everywhere. I am a veteren traveller in the tropics, so I am not overly picky about a few bugs, but this was over the top. (d) Housekeeping can kill a place . . . I experienced here on various days - no bath mat, no soap, no toilet paper and twice, the housekeeper took my used, wet bath towels laying in the shower and rehung them damp!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at City Sheridan, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Hello,

From all of us here at the Best Western City Sheridan, we would like to thank you for taking your time in doing a review for us, all feedback helps.

First of all regarding "the good" as you put it, we are always looking at ways of making sure the guests are comfortable, installing the 32" Flat screen tv's with free cable, and free wireless internet is a good start. Restaurant has had major improvements, and yes we do run a locals 2 for 1 meals, this is a limited menu that after costs we are lucky to break even on, the word of mouth advertising that will happen through the locals is what we are looking for, as we have done alot of work with the restaurant and want locals to spread the good news. I am hoping one day it will pay off once the sign does come down and Locals continue to support us. I still feel the menu is priced for our in house guests, - on the side of good value, Main meals start from $18 up to our large seafood trio for $29. Our restaurant has its own tripadvisor page. Sheridan Bar & Grill. - Feedback would be appreciated.
Our wifi is the best we can get, as i do understand that this is very important, the routers do need starting each day, i have added a timing switch to have them reset on the quietest part of the day to make sure that they are always up and running for the guests at full potential. Thank you for pointing this out.
Room airconditioners are contiually serviced, i have made them a priority for upgrading to the new quite Split systems, this will be completed over the next few months. I acknowledge this, and thank you for your opionion.
Regarding the room cleaning, I personally feel that this is the most important part of someones stay and always looking at ways to make sure that this exceeds expectations, I will look into this issue and make sure that i do my best with the staff and their trainings.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Owner / Manager
Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms clean but very 80`s. Can be very noisy from guests coming in from a night out or bags clunking down stairs early in the morning. Pool area and general surrounds were dirty including the pool itself. We wern`t brave enough to try the pool. Staff are friendly and attentive. The photographer who took the promotional shots of this motel is a genius , he/she could make a slum look like paradise. We definitely won`t be back and Best Western has dropped to the bottom of any search list. Couple of very unhappy and disillusioned customers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Sheridan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN City Sheridan is located in one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical waters it makes for an amazing holiday destination. Located within a 10 minute walk from the hotel awaits Cairns best shops including Cairns central shopping centre, also close by is a large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, as well as plenty of lively bars and clubs. A variety of favourite attractions are also close by including the Cairns civic theatre, Cairns convention centre, cruise ship terminal, bus terminal, museum, arts gallery, train station, reef fleet terminal and the Reef Casino. BEST WESTERN City Sheridan is only a 5 minute drive from the Cairns airports. ROOMS Our rooms are all large in size and modern. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel to help our guests share their experience with people from all over the world. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and balconies. Room features include a 32-inch TV with free in house movies, free wireless internet, microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. All balconies have a table and chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a swimming pool with waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Hotel also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a place you can meet other travelers, and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan lounge bar also has computer terminals with printing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sheridan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.