We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Atrium Apartments to your Saves list
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very happy here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

I stayed here for a week in August. Overall I was happy with my stay. Having just spent a week in hotel rooms I wanted something a little more homely where I could be a bit more independent, and that's what I got. I stayed in a studio flat. The bed was enormous and comfortable. Kitchen utilities were adequate and everything was brand new and clean. Decent sized room and bathroom. In fact it was nicer than the studio flat I live in at home!
Location-wise it was ideal. Within walking distance of everything, the esplande, shops, restaurant and pubs. But not right in the middle of "backpacker paradise".
I booked all of my trips in offices outside the hotel and never really asked anything, so can't comment on staff service in that respect.
I would definitely stay here again, good value, good accomodation and a good location. And I loved the Far North of Queensland :-)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    153
    61
    19
    16
See reviews for
63
145
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

The location of the Southern Cross was vital to our ability to walk most places & it would have been a lot harder if we were further out in some of the other accommodation we saw.It is very handy to the centre city,we could walk there in a few minutes.The Cairns Central shopping mall & train station was only 100m away with 180 shops which was fantastic for grocery or any other shopping & for catching buses for day trips etc.It was an easy landmark to find when you were walking back from town.The apartments are close to the train tracks at the back & you do hear them once early in the morning & later in the afternoon but only for a short time.Most of the service was pleasant and helpful (booking last minute trips was hassle free) but one or two of the staff were not.
In summary it depends what you expect it is not a hotel(they service rooms once a week & basicly leave you to do your own thing.They will help if you ask (some are friendlier than others) the office is open from 8am ? to 7pm.We really enjoyed our ourselves & were pleased with our studio room,loved the setting & location which was vital to our holiday& we would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

We spent 4 nights at this establishment. Overall we were happy with the place. Our 1 bedroom apartment was excellent but the down side was we were tucked away behind the carpark and as a result our room resembled a dark cave....all day. Our outside area was hard up against a wall so we saw no sun , felt no breeze.
If you stay here, make sure you get a room somewhere near one of the three pool areas.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2005

My partner and I stayed in an apartment for 1 week in Jan 2005.We found the apartment that we stayed in, on the 2nd floor, lovely.The location was excellent, especially for access to the main shopping centre and activity pick up point.We enjoyed the pools, spas and loved the weather(although it was the rainy season-still delightful).The bed was wonderful to sleep on, and presentation of the room was very inviting.Our only concerns were that when we requested a 2nd wine glass(as there was only 1 in the cupboard), we didnt recieve one until the following day upon our second request to the reception area...Also, we werent informed of the information board,which gave us all the brouchures/prices to do any trips whilst holidaying in cairns- we actually came across it one night, tucked away from the main office area by mistake,unfortunetly 5 days into our stay.Over all, seeing it was new, we were dissapointed in the staff training and friendliness of staff upon arrival, it was like we werent visitors to Cairns.All in all, good value for the money conscience traveller.Enjoy Spectactular Cairns- We did, and will for plenty of years to come.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

We loved the location of the complex, close to the railway and the supermarket. We also enjoyed how new it was and the great kitchen facilities and a nice balcony. We were not happy about the rubbish truck that emptied the rubbish every morning around 5am and that the sounds of other people in the apartments echoed throughout the complex. The spas were not heated either. Otherwise a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Atrium Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.