We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok sort of place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Atrium Apartments to your Saves list
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Kaitaia. NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok sort of place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was ok but quite small. The bathroom was a good size though. Clean & tidy although we had to borrow an old towel to put on the floor as the air conditioning unit kept dripping.
The complex was very good, with 3 swimming pools, barbecues etc., really nice.
It was a bit of a walk to the Esplanade where most of the restaurants are, but handy to shopping if you are self catering as Coles & other shops just across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    153
    61
    19
    16
See reviews for
63
145
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights last month. It was the off season so the hotel was about 2/3 empty. The room was clean and had a fridge, microwave, stovetop and toaster. The kitchen was quite convenient, and we utilized the bbq by the pool area, which was easy to use and convenient as well. We never had our mid week cleaning (as i thought we should have had) but it wasn't a problem for us. The whirlpools in the pool area are not heated, which i thought they should have been. It is a short drive to the Esplanade, and a quick walk to a mall and shopping center. Overall great experience, would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so floor one or two is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having a group of 2 couples was just the perfect place to stay. Very clean accommodation and great rooms with even our own laundry to share. Near the railway, shopping centre and restaurants to walk and can walk everywhere in central Cairns. Definitely will stay there again. If on our own would go for the slightly smaller room overlooking the pool. Very quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are over the pool and for 2 people would be great. We choose the larger rooms are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

this is the 2nd time we have stayed here, nice and clean rooms, close to the cairns night scene, 7 min walk to the man made lagoon! reception are friendly! large car park, & 3 great looking pools, never had an issue with noise!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The apartment was well equipped with all the basic kitchen utensils. It was very spacious and had a decent sized balcony. It is also within walking distance to Cairns Central, major grocers and good eateries. Even the esplanade is within walking distance. The apartments have three decent sized pools and two lovely spas located at the first pool. We stayed early January and although it was fully tenanted it was peaceful.

Room Tip: We stayed at the third level though so it proved difficult lugging our suitcases up and down three f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and really enjoyed our time here. The complex was a nice quiet location. The apartments were well equipped. We stayed here in April and was very quiet at the time, so we very relaxed peaceful stay. would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year's in a 1-bedroom apartment. While not a 'luxurious' apartment, they are very well sized, equipped with all the necessary items and was a great choice for my stay in Cains.

I was solo and I wouldn't recommend a 1-bedroom for more than 2 people as the couch wouldn't be large enough to sleep on. The bed itself was comfortable; flat-panel TV worked fine (swivel between bedroom and family room is a nice touch); bathroom was large and stocked with clean linens; kitchen well furnished and the balcony was large as well.

My apt over looked the carpark so it was quiet without other guests. There are several small pools, which I used one morning. There are several BBQs throughout as well.

The complex is next to a shopping mall that, besides normal stores, has a Coles (grocery store) and a Target. The esplanade is a quick 5-10 minute walk.

It was great to have additional space vs. a standard hotel room and would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone I know coming to Cains.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Atrium Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.