We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Gilligans is huge. The rooms are pretty standard, the bar/club is fun and where everyone goes in Cairns so nice and easy to walk up the stairs or get the lift to bed when the party is over.
Because the place is so massive the vibe isn't so friendly or familiar. But the free drinks/food offers are good.
Location is pretty good, close to the greyhound bus stop and shops and walking distance to the lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Here at Gilligan's we are continually looking for ways to better our product offering and appreciate your honest feedback. In an effort to create another level of social interaction later this year we will be launching the all new Gilligan's Getaway floor. Part of this will be our 'Lounge About' area. By doing this we hope to create an area for people to mingle and interact away from the busy entertainment areas, in an alcohol free environment. Gilligan's Travels also offers 'Group Activities'. Information regarding these days will be going into all rooms in the next few weeks. These days are specifically designed to create opportunity for individual travelers to meet other people and make new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    143
    61
    25
    31
See reviews for
3
35
154
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We started our east coast trip here and it did not disappoint. The hostel has a massive bar during the day with swimming pool which turns into cairns biggest night club at night with events on every night from jelly wrestling women and the likes. The rooms have en suites and the balcony's are sound proofed so you can party and not wake anyone up in your room. Great spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
It's always great to hear when someone has loved their stay with us at Gilligan's! All of the management and team really appreciate your comments and we look forward to having you and your friends come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Over all a very nice hostel, clean rooms, clean bathrooms and well stocked kitchen facilities. However significantly lacked atmosphere, and just seemed to be loads of kids getting smashed at night and lounging around hungover in the day. Good if you want partying I guess but the staff were quite rude, and slightly patronising whenever I asked for help, with the acceptation of the staff working in the travel bookings department who were lovely. Also very antisocial not much mixing between different groups of travellers

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Your positive feedback on the cleanliness of overall product Gilligan's offers is appreciated. We are constantly working with our staff to improve customer service and your comments have been received by all of the management team for review. As you mention our Travel staff do offer impeccable service and really appreciate your awesome comments regarding the service they provide. I'm not sure if you were aware, but I would like to take this opportunity to mention that we do offer 'Group Activities' at Gilligan's Travels. These days are specifically designed for individual travelers to meet like minded people and make new friends. Information racks regarding this product will be going into all rooms later this month. We do apologise if this was not brought to your attention during your stay. For those travelers not wanting to party we do recommend our smallers dorms on the higher levels. All of our room types at Gilligan's have en-suite facilities, including the budget rooms on lower levels more commonly populated by party people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Gilligan’s is the hub of the Cairns backpacker scene, if you don’t stay at Gilligan’s you will get FOMO and end up going there for drinks anyway.

In house guests get bonuses such as discounted drinks, free entry and free dinner and there is always something cool going on in the bar. There is nightly entertainment, live music and lots going on.

It’s also a really high quality place to stay, the rooms are really clean, the staff are friendly and it’s very secure.

Room Tip: If you want to party choose an 8 bed dorm on a lower floor, if you want a quiet sleep pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I don't get the hype. Checking all the recent 5* reviews I've noticed they were the only reviews made by the users -- use your head on that one! The bar itself is a great set up and all that but it's spoilt by the childish music and the rude staff. The rooms are fine but not worth the price charged. They need to point out that there is no gym anymore and the pool has been under construction long enough to remove that from their website too. It's far too overrated. I'd rather pay 1$6 a night less and go somewhere a little "grottier" to be around people that a) love their jobs and b) not forced to listen to Pitbull every third song. If you're a teen who loves the Magaluf scene, this is most likely your thing. If not, avoid it. I will note however the love acoustic music outside is always a winner and if it weren't for that, I'd have never gone a second time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights and think the hostel is majorly over-rated. The room was tiny no where for my luggage and smelt like mould. The reps did do a good job of trying to include people in the trips nights out etc but got to a point when you just want to be left alone. The kitchen area was big clean and lots of cutlery and toilet facilities were always clean

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What an awesome hostel! Very clean, with a fun bar to go to, and good common areas to see your fellow travellers. The thing that made this hostel above and beyond was some of the staff though: Leah from Canada was AMAZING. She took care of any issues we had, was always ready to help us out when we decided to rebook (again), and gave stellar recommendations for places to go eat or drink. She also always had good info on the deals at Gilligan's so we knew we weren't missing out on anything. Really wonderful stay, and so glad to have met her and the other crew.
Cheers guys!
Kylie/Kristy

Room Tip: spend a little more for an 8 bed dorm vs a 10, simply because it's the cheapest option while sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.