We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time, very clean, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #23 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Had a great time, very clean, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Gilligans is more like a club with beds so it's great if you like partying till early hours of the morning but if you don't it's quite noisy at night in the rooms. There's a nice pool and bar open all day and the food at night was nice, there's a great backpackers meal deal for $4 where you get a drink and meal and it's nice food. Some of the staff are a bit rude and not very helpful but the others help as much as they can. The tour desk people are very nice but don't always offer the best deals for trips so shop around! It's in a great location near the shopping centre, market and the lagoon which we really loved. We stayed in a 8 bed dorm and it was really clean and it had a shared bathroom between us which worked fine! Would recommend gilligans as we did have a good time!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Gilligan's. The cheaper rooms are located near the entertainment sector of the establishment, however for a couple of dollars more you can select a quiet room on a higher floor, away from the action. The team at Gilligan's are encouraged to try their utmost to provide guests with the best service possible at all times, your varied comments are noted by management and will be followed up. The two in-house licensed travel agencies at Gilligan's strive to provide our clients with quality products, to ensure an experience of a life time. The cheapest option, is most often, not the best option. We have a huge selection of products for all travellers from the budget focused to the 5 star and endeavour to match the right products to each client. It is great to read you loved your overall experience at Gilligan's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    185
    78
    30
    37
See reviews for
3
43
196
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a 4 bed private dorm!! After touring the east coast for almost 5 weeks I was used to bad hostels and uncomfortable beds!! I absolutely loved gilligans it was one of the best hostels we stayed in! Our room was like a hotel room with 4 beds! We had a balcony over looking the pool, a shower room and a bathroom! There was a telly, air conditioning and the beds were clean and comfy!! It was a little noisy at nighttime but overall an excellent place to stay while in cairns

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Your awesome feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Gilligan's is very much appreciated by management and staff. Thanks for taking the time to let fellow travellers know how much you enjoyed staying, playing and party at Gilligan's!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Brilliant hostel, lots of space in the rooms, en suite shower and toilet, each room has its own balcony. Each level has a big clean kitchen, staff were all nice and helped us out when we needed to switch rooms, great location, and the club next door is a good night out. Really good atmosphere, only downsides were the cleaners being amazingly noisy and that the air on at night gets freezing. Best hostel I've stayed at so far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Many thanks for the brilliant review you have given Gilligan's here on Trip Advisor. Our cleaners must have been a little over excited during your stay, but rest assured, we have followed up with them and passed on your comments. It's very rewarding for the management and staff to read such constructive feedback and helps us to continue to make Gilligan's an amazing experience for all future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had a sick time, the place to stay and party in Cairns. Rooms are nice, its more like a hotel than a hostel, but better prices than most hostels in australia.
Good location, best nightclub in oz. Best hostel in oz.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thankyou so much for the awesome review about your Gilligan's experience. Management and crew totally agree, it is the place to Stay, Play and Party in Style, when in Cairns!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I originally booked two nights here at Gilligans and extended my stay here for a further 5 or 6 nights. Not for the reason I wanted to party. Gilligans is renowned for the party hostel and whilst that is true, it is also a clean and well kept place to stay. I felt so comfortable and safe in the rooms. they were cleaned daily, the reception were helpful and extremely friendly. The kitchen was cleaned daily and there was plenty of room in the fridges for your own food. Gilligans is close to everything also. and if you are only staying a couple of nights and wish to party, it is seriously perfect. But if you are planning on having a quiet night in, just be prepared because you do here the music/bass from the club but that's to be expected. :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks for taking a few moments to let other readers know how much you loved staying at Gilligan's, here in Cairns. For those travellers that are not wanting to party as hard as some of our other guests, just request a quiet room when making the initial reservation. If you choose to stay on a higher floor at Gilligan's or on the right hand side of the building you can escape the beats and bass from the entertainment venue.
Stay, Play & Party in Style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm with 3 other friends. The rooms were really clean and tidy. The room had its own well kept bathroom and separate toilet, and also a balcony which was great. The hostel has a good party atmosphere but can sometimes feel a bit like spring break or like a high school. I have stayed at 5 other hostels in Cairns and this one, although slightly more expensive, is great for a dorm.
However, I also rented a private room with my partner for one night and was disappointed. Going by our dorm we had high expectations. The room, although clean, was not worth the $120 for the night. It did have a fridge and tv but no balcony.Also noticed the drink specials were not as cheap if you had a private room. I would have preferred to stay in an actual hotel for this price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your very positive comments regarding our dormitory accommodation and Gilligan's in general. In regards to the hotel rooms some do have balconies and these are available on request at the time of booking. The hotel rooms have all the creature comforts such as tea & coffee facilities, linen, towels, flat screen tv, en-suite, air-conditioning, desk, in-room safe & ironing facilities and we believe they are reasonably priced in the current marketplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Close to everywhere you want to go in Cairns. Rooms are the nicest I saw. Balcony and private shared bathroom was awesome. Specific to my stay, I met some really awesome people! Make sure to check out the Lagoon and Esplandade for good restaurants. I did party most nights, but, not staying right over the club = good sleep every night!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a 6 person room and one away from the club. Very much worth while!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay recently at Gilligan's! Thanks for leaving your feedback as I'm sure many travellers will find your tips useful when choosing their room type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.