We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Trilogy to your Saves list
Mantra Trilogy
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here one night for a work trip. Room was large, balcony was small. Interior of room dated could do with a repaint and a bit of modernisation. Service was fine and outlook was good from seventh floor. Can walk to everything from hotel. Okay for a short stay

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear cdchiken,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment in late 2014.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    164
    91
    46
    44
See reviews for
128
163
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The Mantra Trilogy Resort is well situated and provides easy access to the esplanade and city centre. The room I was allocated was clean and had good amenities. Being a high tourist area the carpet in the room did show signs of accidental spills and some wear.

All and all the room was fine for my purpose. I certainly would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Phillip S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've stayed at Mantra Trilogy twice now for the Cairns Ironman weekend and was very impressed that some of the logistical issues I experienced two years ago were not a concern during my recent stay at the beginning of June.

The location is so convenient. Close the restaurants, supermarkets and everything you need is available within your self contained apartment. They are roomy and tastefully decorated with a nice little balcony to enjoy breakfast on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear jksershaw24,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We sorry that we failed to deliver our iconic sunny tropical weather the region is renowned for during the IRON MAN Event.

We are currently taking bookings for the 2015 Iron man, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed in some of the best hotels so my standards are high. I thought this hotel was good. Not special but good. It ticked all the boxes and the staff were accommodating when we needed extra blankets, towels and keys. The pool is not exciting but large enough for families to have space. The room was medium sized with a sofa bed for extras and was comfortable.
This place would probably be good for a family. The shower/ bath was excellent and our fridge was good. It was an ok stay bit lacked personality! Location was perfect!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Frankie-Lewis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Mantra Trilogy during Ironman weekend. It's location almost on the Cairns Waterfront is ideal but this year (2014) the event was mainly held in pouring ran which was unfortunate for the large spectator contingent so we did not get a view of sunny skies which one hopes for on the upper floors (no fault of Mantra Trilogy).
We had a two bedroom apartment and whilst all the necessities are there in terms bedding, utensils, etc, it is probably getting to the point that some refurbishment is required as lounge seating is looking a bit dated. The reception staff are very helpful and no doubt we will be back next year

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Remmers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The apartments are currently scheduled for a soft refurbishment in late 2014.

We are taking bookings for the 2015 Ironman event. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to make a booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked this accommodation based upon the location on the esplanade and the convenience and access to restaurants. Upon check-in we were allocated a room in tower 2. When I exited the lift into the hall outside our room I was overcome with a very powerful smell of wet towels, mould. We entered the room and it was just was bad, if not worse. We decided to go for a walk and hoped when we returned the smell would be gone (hoping it was just a temporary thing). Unfortunately when we returned I decided I could not stay in the room and I called reception to complain. They advised they would move us to another room. The next room they moved us to was the exact same room two levels above. This room had exactly the same problem. Even with the sliding doors stacked back all the way I couldn't stand the smell. Shame as the view over the water was really nice. Reception called to check if I was satisfied and I advised them that no, I actually wasn't satisfied. I was then advised that this was Cairns and it was a humid environment. I calmly advised the staff member that I had stayed in many other places in Cairns and none of them smelt like these two rooms. They then moved us again to another room in another tower which wasn't as bad. I do believe the staff member really tried to assist us greatly and her customer service skills were high level but the product just doesn't live up to an appropriate standard. The smell is atrocious and made me feel sick after a short period of time. There was no way I could have slept in that room. I then logged in to trip advisor and see there are other reviews with the same complaint. The tiles around the pool and pathways were dirty and could do with a good gernie. I would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bindi1974,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Both my partner and I were in Cairns for a holiday. Whilst we didn't know it, the Ironman was being held this particular weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mantra Triology it was so close to everything. The customer service was fantastic the facilities were great, however because it was so cold we couldn't use the really nice swimming pool. The rooms are average though. The view is fantastic as we were on the 4th - 5th level we could see the sea from our balcony. The dual key apartments are interesting however, it can be very noisy when you hear your next door neighbour's door opening and closing. The bathroom layout is bizzare as the toilet is right behind the door and toilet is placed low to the ground. Bath in the bathroom very nice, bed comfy, space in the room good. Customer service also allowed us to use shower facilities near the gym whilst we were waiting for our flight late at night and looked after our luggage during the day - this was a bonus. Thank you Mantra.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea views and a non-dual key room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Blaisey1,

We are glad to hear that both you & your partner enjoyed your holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Trilogy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.