We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view is best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Trilogy to your Saves list
Mantra Trilogy
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room with a view is best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I think this hotel is more like a three and a half, but that wasn't an option! The rooms are a bit tired and i'd imagine if you didn't have a view could be a bit depressing, but we had two connecting rooms that looked out over the Cairns ocean. That view was magic. The rooms big and well-layed out and the baths big - perfect for a family of five. The location was even better - a few minutes walk from the lagoon and restaurants, across the road form a fab gelato shop and above a small supermarket. The staff were extra friendly and they gave each of our children a cool pack of colouring-in books. Ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear bigwords,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    169
    95
    49
    49
See reviews for
135
166
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and the location is great really close to the lagoon and the pier and very close to plenty of good restaurants. However i was very disappointed with the room. The bed as some others have described was two single beds held together with a queen sized fitted sheet, it was very uncomfortable.

We were advised at check in (and not before) that we would not recieve any housekeeping services and we had to go to the reception to request anything we needed. Which wasn't a huge problem the reception workers were very friendly and helpful with this, but it still would have been nice to know prior to booking.

The other issue i had was the wifi. I think all serious hotels should offer free wifi these days. But all the Trilogy has to offer is a single computer in the lobby with free internet access and a private wifi provider charging a ludicrous $25/day for wifi.

Some other positives were the pool and bbq area were very nice.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear titans87,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment including bed replacement; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

Once again my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I think a bed is a vital element to get right in a hotel. I tried to change rooms due to the bed, however the other room I was offered also had a terrible bed. The queen mattress was infact two small mattresses zipped up the middle forming a ridge which leaves you to roll out. It was also extremely soft probably due to old springs that had lost their bounce!

Otherwise the location is central and the room tidy enough. Just average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear j p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

The apartments are currently scheduled for refurbishment which will include replacing the beds; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

Once again my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here two nights and I met the best desk clerks I have ever encountered. They chatted like we were old friends were willing to answer our questions and offered lots of help. I would have given it an excellent rating but there wasn't free internet access and no bathtub just an open shower that made the floor of the bathroom slippery.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean had a great view although sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Bobbefitz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, perfect location easily walk down to the lagoon and esplanade. This is what you pay for though. The room we stayed in must have been next to a smoking room as the joining access door area absolutely wreaked of smoke so much that myself and hubby were not breathing until we got into our room. Other than that though the room was fine. Secure parking, huge shower and some pay tv channels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Cocamunga,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to get an extremely good room rate and for what we paid we were very happy. It has one of the best locations to the centre of the town, walk to anywhere from here.,
The room was small but as we were not there much it didn't really matter. The pool area is nice and has a bbq area as well. We were surprised that we did not get daily room service though. they only service the room every 3 days, however they are more than happy to change your towels and top up your tea/coffee supplies when you request it. There is also undercover car parking available with no extra charges but it is limited so you have to park earlier if you want to secure an undercover park. Would we stay again? yes at that price we would.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear auzzigirls,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We paid for a condo suite for a family of five, and for that deluxe apartment feel the upgrade was roomy and comfortable! I counted my graces in various rooms, on the living room sofa, and from the magnificent view on the balcony. What a way to wake up! Beds were slightly above average but not ritzy, nevertheless, I had a good sleep. Hospitality very friendly, even guiding, but it also lacks manpower. Short staff, but kindness all the way. Ten-to-twelve minute walk to the boating dock.

Room Tip: High up for that elevated view of the sea and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent J, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Life_of_Sean,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Trilogy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.