We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Lodge

Save Saved
You added Fig Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Fig Tree Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fig Tree Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   253 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We got an excellent dinner, bed and breakfast package here which made it such a good deal. The pool was excellent, nice and deep and I love those lagoon-style pools set in tropical gardens like this one. The restaurant was lovely and had indoor and outdoor seating.

We found the staff great and the hotel had the atmosphere of a small family-run hotel.

The room was good, nothing sumptious but clean and everything worked, It was on a level of other higher-priced corporate hotels I have stayed at.

From the hotel it was an leisurely walk into town or you could take the public bus from a bus stop very handy to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

FIG TREE LODGE IS HORRIFIC

W/o question the worst hotel/lodge of any I've stayed in over 20 years and nearly 80 countries of travel. They are cutting corners all over the place: nobody answer front desk phone at night/morning, told to get ice from bar downstairs, refrigerators w/ warm setting locked in place; old fans/appliances, and not a great location.

GO ANYWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Nice apartment. Travelled with a friend, while a little away from the main area nice location. Staff were very friendly & organised activities for us. Irish Bar was good for a relaxing evening. Nice food served in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We didn't want to stay down on the Esplanade so we were happy with the location though it is a little out of the way. It has a nice pool area and a great Irish Pub with some excellent food and beer choices. The staff there were really great and we were especially impressed with Dave who worked in the pub. We took cabs when we wanted to go to Kuridia and booked transportation to Port Douglas for a great snorkeling cruise. Not really expensive at all. Had a lovely time and wil visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony, France
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This hotel is located between the airport and downtown (10 minutes max).
Rooms are standard but noisy mainly because of the road.
The staff s really nice and available. They booked us a fabulous cruise to the reef.

Breackfast is also good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Good place this. Very pleasant, Great atmosphere as you walk in. . Not sure about the restaurant. I had a good meal, my friend's was barely adequate. Reception staff very pleasant, friendly, helpful and efficient. Restaurant staff less efficient. Really pretty little hotel. Nice rooms. Good facilities. At least 20 mins walk into central Cairns but pleasant walk along the esplanade - this wouldn't suit a lot of people as Cairns is warm and walking back can be a bit of a drag when you are hot and your feet are hurting. Taxi was cheap though at around 8-9 dollars and staff happy to order one. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very reasonably priced but there was no continental breakfast and sometimes a taxi was required into town so when you take that into consideration it makes it a bit more expensive. Tour/trip companies were happy to pick up from there. NOTE - it is the airport side of Cairns so get a taxi or ask if the airport bus driver will drop you off there.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This place seemed to suffer a bit of an identity crisis. Was more a pub with rooms rather than rooms with a pub. The first night our room was only a few feet from the deck and we were kept awake until the small hours with the sounds of a pub in full swing. Next day we asked for another room away from the drinking area which we were given. My husband climbed into bed and sat on a large soaking wet patch that went right through the mattress. We complained and were put in a room up so many flights of stairs we had to wonder how people with suitcases managed to get up them. Admitidly they did refund our breakfast but we still felt dirty and grossed out and couldn't understand how the cleaning staff didn't notice it. The rooms were a good size but could have done with something to sit on to watch TV. The headboards were screwed to the wall but the base and mattress weren't attached to anything and had casters so when you climbed in the bed went flying across the room. The restaurant was nice, good basic food, good prices.

  • Liked — Close to the Airport
  • Disliked — The noise, it came from all directions.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fig Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Lodge

Address: 253 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fig Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.