We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe we've waited this long!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Rock lookout

Glacier Rock lookout
Smiths Track | Douglas Track, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 31 Attractions in Cairns
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Can't believe we've waited this long!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've lived in Cairns for some 20 years and, today for the first time, we completed the Glacier Rock walk from Speewah. It was brilliant! We experienced sun, wind and rain during our 4 hour return hike and it was all worth it for the amazing view from Glacier Rock lookout. The walk is graded as easy to moderate by National Parks - the three of us are in our 60s and we didn't actually find it easy as some of the uphill sections can be a little challenging - but we got a great workout! We're definitely going back to explore some of the other walks in the Speewah area and we'll definitely be calling in to the Speewah Tavern again for a bite to eat (great food!).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome views, so lucky to have this in our back yard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stoney creek car park to Glacier Rock look out and back took 3 hours stopping for small breaks and photos on the way. Cross the railway line time it right and meet the kuranda train going through. Mosquitoes are ready to carry you away. Awesome views, some parts of the walk may be a bit strenuous if your not to fit. Take plenty of water and watch for snakes.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ultimate Cairns view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The goal ,journey and the View. Have been many times to Glacier Rock via smiths Track and often very different,rainy,cloudy,hot. Always a great walk from Kuranda ,Speewah or Stony Creek.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

You will get an amazing view of cairns, palm cove, and if the weather is great you might see green island

It will take 3h

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of Cairns' region little gems!! You need a moderate level of fitness for this walk but is well worth the effort- and the swim at Stony Creek on the way back is so refreshing!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Rock lookout also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Glacier Rock lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Rock lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.