We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Reef Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island

Green Island
Green Island, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Improve this listing
Visit Green Island like an insider
Top Rated
$285*
and up
2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green...
Ranked #18 of 100 things to do in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Coral Reef Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Big Cat Tour. We did not snorkle but we went on the glassbottom boat. The view of the reef was good. The submersable was much better even though it cost extra

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    193
    112
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Myself and hubbie took the half day trip from Cairns and we really loved it! I wished we had chosen the full day because with the half day you only get a couple of hours there before it's time to come back (we weren't sure what to expect so we went for half a day). The island has a resort with all the facilities and shops, so we could have stayed longer. I spent all time snorkelling and it was amazing, I didn't want to get out the water! Overall it was great and next time we're up north we'll go there for the full day!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very nice place but not a lot to do other than .staying on beach and swimming ,the beach is small .Make sure you go on the glass bottom boat, but you may feel sick as you are looking down and the boat does rock a bit .I would just go for a half day trip if you stay on the Island only .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We took the cruise on Big Cat to Green Island. The trip was great, very scenic view from the boat. The submarine ride was great and you get a good view of the coral reef. Snorkeling was a bit of disappointment as you dont see much of anything. There is a special trip to the deep seas and i understand you get to see big fishes and good amount of coral. But you have to book this in advance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“green island cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

semi sub glass bottomed boat and glass bottom boat half day tour. amazing views of the reef and reef life. well worth the trip. a snorkeller would probably want to do the whole day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Island also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Green Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.