We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartment for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex to your Saves list
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Shop 1, 34 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great apartment for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great apartment of convenient location. Spacious room and comfortable furniture. Beautiful harbor view and the balcony is just perfect for the sunset. Love the kitchen but later find tiny ants coming from nowhere!!

Room Tip: definitely have a harbor view room, it's worth to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Eul 1,
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you were impressed with the great harbour views this room has to offer. The little black ants you described are known as sugar ants and they do like to come out occasionally when rain is around and unfortunately we can not do much about them as they love living in the tropics as much as we do!
We hope that you will be able to return to Cairns Luxury Apartments again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We've just back and so sad we should plan being there longer. Very warm welcome but you need to check in at the Visitor Info center around the corner before headind to the Harbour Light complex. Great room decoration, clean, recommend the harbour view. Very close to the fleet terminal for GBR trip and close to the esplanade and the restaurant around! But there were no daily service so if the agent consider to add just light daily cleaning service we will give Excellent!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and for the great feedback - we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed that your room was not serviced daily (this is because the apartments are considered 'self contained' rather than a hotel room) and should you stay with us again we hope that we can make you think that we're very "excellent" indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The Harbour Lights is situated in a brilliant location right on the waterfront. This part of Cairns is very tourist orientated and has a large selection of restaurants and high end shops. The casino is directly across the road if that's your style. Our room was a studio and was small but functional. There was a small fridge, LCD TV and coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom was small but well set out and had the biggest shower I've ever seen. The room looked a little plain with big grey walls and no pictures or paintings and a lot of patch-ups in the wrong tone. There's a pool on level 4 with a small gym, this area has nice views over the city. Dundee's restaurant is on the ground level and is pretty busy, we had a nice meal there and the service was good. The central part of the hotel looks a bit like a prison with a bar like aluminium barrier, it's a very strange design choice. All up this is an ok choice, it's clean, well located and modern.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback, we always appreciate hearing what you enjoyed and, of course, what we can do to improve thing s for future guests.

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the amenities which are located so close by - a definite advantage! Just to let you know that we have recently updated the decor of many of our rooms due to guest feedback and they are looking rather lovely indeed! Sadly we're unable to change the interior section of the building but we do understand that the architect made an interesting design choice...

I hope that next time you visit Cairns you'll stay with us again as not only do we love to look after our VIP returning guests but you'll be able to see all of the improvements we've made.

Kind regards,

Francesca Beckett
Cairns Luxury Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We arrived late on March 22 for a 10 day stay at Cairns Luxury Apartments. It was our first big family holiday and I had planned and researched it all months in advance. When we arrived in the evening it was pouring rain, carting our luggage from the visitor information center with two small children in the rain after travelling all day was difficult and we were guided to the wrong floor. We walked around in circles unsure where to go. I contacted and spoke to a very helpful man named Patrick, who was most apologetic and informed us we were given the wrong floor. Patrick escorted us to the correct floor to our apartment. The apartment location was great, we loved the views, and the general layout was great but we had a few issues. For luxury apartments we were a little disappointed on the condition of the furnishings. The floor was cream carpet which was covered in stains, which gave it a dirty look. The cupboard with the microwave was loose at one hinge which was hazardous as you had to juggle it to get it back into place.. Some of the blinds in one of the bedrooms were broken or missing which looked untidy and messy. The worst part was the ensuite bathroom which had no curtains or privacy as it was facing the Harbour. Unless you wanted to wave to 300 tourists on the boats whilst going to the toilet, we gave that bathroom a miss, therefore, the en-suite was pretty much useless.

I did make mention of the bathroom to the ladies in the tourist office, who advised they would have someone come up to put plastic sheet up for some privacy, but no one ever came. These were small things, but for luxury apartments they could have been better. If someone was to evaluate this apartment for ratings, I honestly doubt it would get more than 3 stars, it seems the apartments condition depend on the owners, so I assume some apartments are better than others.

As for location, it was fabulous! I loved the views. All in all FNQ apartments were friendly and helpful, so I have no complaints on the customer service and I would definitely book with them again. My only advice is a little more attention to detail can go a long way on first impressions.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a one bedroom garden view for 4 nights in late Nov to early Dec 2013. The location is just perfect!! Next to the harbour, I can rush to my apartment for bath right after the visit to Great Barrier Reef.
The apartment is big enough with all the facilities I want like washing machine, laundry etc. Although the staff are not located within the complex, they are just next to corner in the Information Center and very helpful. They even let me have a check-in at 10am!
The restaurants downstair are good and provide lunch in a very reasonable price.
I will definitely return!

Room Tip: One bedroom garden view has the highest CP! Actually it has partial harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Cairns Luxury Apartments provide a clean and comfortable place for us to relax and prepare for our Great Barrier Reef dive trip. The apts are fully equipped with a kitchen & washer/dryer. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the harbor. Also, there is a neat public swimming pool not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on 15 dec for 4 nights. The only problem is , our booking for does not indicate that the name of the property. We drove around the area for 15 mins to figure out. It should be harbour lights apartment . Check in at tourist information near the property. Very different from usual .
The apartment is comfortable. No room service for 4 nights, we washed out towels. free parking , full kitchen facilities , everything is working well, bed is comfortable . Free wifi. Not noisy though we stayed at 3rd floor. Room view face partial sea n hilton hotel view
Overall , it's a comfortable hotel, relaxing after a long reef cruise trip. Near restaurants and walking distance to city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex

Address: Shop 1, 34 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Luxury Apartments are individually chosen apartments located on the Water Front of the Cairns Marlin Marina within the Harbour Lights complex and are rated 5 star. This collection of absolute waterfront, luxury apartments on the Marlin Marina in Cairns include studio harbour view rooms, 1 bedroom self contained inlet & harbour view apartments, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained harbour view apartments, as well as an executive 3 bedroom harbour view apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.