We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reef helicopter trip with Tom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GBR Helicopters - Private Tours

GBR Helicopters - Private Tours
Hangar 10, Bush Pilots Avenue | General Aviation, Cairns Airport, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4081 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$330*
and up
Ranked #49 of 133 Activities in Cairns
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GBR Helicopters is the leading rotary aviation company in North Queensland, with a reputation for excellence and an unrivalled safety record in the delivery of helicopter services across the following industry sectors: - Tourism and Leisure- Commercial- Film and Television Since 1996, GBR Helicopters has been prioviding daily helicopter tourism services to cruise operators at the Great Barrier Reef. We are the only helicopter operator to provide an exclusive, contracted daily service to the four major Great Barrier Reef day tour operators – Great Adventures (GreenIsland, Norman and Moore Reef)- Quicksilver Connections (Agincourt Reef)- Reef Magic Cruises (Moore Reef) - Sunlover Reef Cruises (Moore Reef). The company’s commercial operations commenced in the late 90’s with the provision of Marine Pilot transfer services to Rio Tinto vessels. GBR Helicopters has since expanded significantly in the commercial field and now provides services to major organisations including Telstra, BHP Billiton, Ergon Energy, the Queensland Fire and Rescue Service and a range of other State and Federal Government departments/agencies. GBR Helicopters are also recognised specialists in the film and television market. Our pilots have the highest hours in the Australian industry filming with Wescam, Spacecam, Tyler and Cineflex camera mount systems.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Reef helicopter trip with Tom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Could only afford 10 minutes, would have liked to spend a lot more time. Worth every penny though and Tom our pilot was great. He was very good at finding turtles and sharks to view from 500 feet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    5
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just magical and breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

GBR helicopters were sensational! The views were perfect and the service was fantastic. Tom, our pilot was so informative and made the trip one to remember. Jo was so helpful and organised the whole thing. If you are thinking about going for a fly, just do it! You wont regret it at all. Thank you GBR helicopters!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A whole new perspective of Mossman Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've been to Mossman gorge a few times but a adding a 10 minute trip up the gorge on the helicopter gave us a whole new perspective- a truly memorable addition to the trip. I'm from the mining industry so safety is a part of my life and GBR imprressed me with their attention to safety. Lindsay the the pilot was the perfect blend of calm professional and knowledgeable guide.... and relatively affordable for the experience- the views of the rain forest and back to Port Douglas were amazing- the kids cant stop talking about the thrill. The new Gorge centee is also great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best flight I have ever been on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went on Sunlover cruises on Monday and whilst I was there went on a ten minute scenic flight on the outer Great Barrier Reef with GBR helicopters. It was truly magnificent, the photos I got were just like what you see on post cards. The staff and pilot were so informative and friendly. I 100% recommend a flight with GBR helicopters when you visit Cairns and Port Douglas, it is worth every cent you pay. To see the Great Barrier Reef from a birds eye view is fantastic. GBR helicopters are number one in helicopters!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Add This To Your Bucket List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

While visiting Port Douglas my wife and I decided on something special - a helicopter ride to and over the Great Barrier Reef. It was one of our most exciting and breathtaking adventures. We absolutely recommend this as a "must see" or "bucket list" item. There is nothing like seeing the Great Barrier Reef from above. We came across GBR Helicopter while in a Port Douglas tourism office and booked a 45-minute reef flight. Our pilot, Tom, was from Cairns. Tom was so friendly and engaging. He picked us up at our hotel in Port Douglas and dropped us off afterward. He was very knowledgable about the reef and local area and we could tell he had such a passion for flying. The experience was so surreal. We were hovering about 500 feet above the Great Barrier Reef. The ride was so comfortable and so smooth, and the helicopter was so clean and well-maintained. It looked brand new. We had a private tour of the reef and wore headsets to communicate with each other and Tom. We took all types of pictures and videos from the air and felt like we covered so much of the reef. We flew over the Low Isles, Batt Reef and Tongue Reef in the Coral Sea. There are certain experiences that are priceless - this is one. We would recommend this to everyone. It was one of the best experiences of our lifetime. Many friends and family remarked how our pictures looked like postcards. We cannot thank Tom enough for the experience. It was nothing short of spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GBR Helicopters - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to GBR Helicopters - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GBR Helicopters - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.