We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent club - just a pity about the new restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cazalys Cairns

Cazalys Cairns
344 Mulgrave Road | Westcourt, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4054 1464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Fun & Games in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cazalys Cairns AFL Club - Open 7 days a week from 9am - 2am daily. Cazalys award winning club in Cairns- Best Club Far North QLD 2014, Best Football Club QLD 2014 & Best Social Club QLD in 2014. Boasting a world class stadium, ever-changing live entertainment, exciting gaming lounge, home to the chic new restaurant- Barassis (operated by Debbie Maxwell & her team),Barassis Cafe and an out-of-this-world children's entertainment area & Kids Club. The new renovations reflect the clubs commitment to evolving with the times and catering to the changing demands of patrons. So whether you're meeting friends for coffee, gathering the family for dinner or just want to relax and watch a game, your always welcome at Cazalys.
Blackpool England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent club - just a pity about the new restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just loved Friday night's at Cazaly's. Great atmosphere, free raffles, usually a live game being played outside and lots of Sports TV and betting opportunities inside. If not into sport, there is lots going on elsewhere in the club. The only disappointment is the restaurant. Before the new restaurant opened, the food was excellent and reasonable. We've eaten there twice since, the second time being a complimentary meal because the first was inedible. Unfortunately the second meal was of the standard of the first! A great club, but eat before you go!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CazalysCairns, Public Relations Manager at Cazalys Cairns, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear poultonian

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Club. I am certainly disappointed that your meal was not all that it should be and would like to apologize on
behalf of the Club and its team for your experience.

With the opening of the new restaurant there have been some initial teething problems, with the new menu and wider variety of choices. Please be assured that the chef's are working hard to ensure customer satisfaction.

I am glad to hear that you enjoy Friday nights at the club, with 50 free raffles every week and great live entertainment, it's a great night out. Once again please accept my apologies and hope that we see you at the club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Can do better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not up to the usual standard for food offered at clubs of a similar size. Price of meals here do not reflect the quality. Plenty of poker machines for those who want to play. A better option than eating here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best club in Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere. Good for lunch and also have a good range of cakes and sweets for a morning or afternoon tea. Make a very delicious hot chocolate. One of our favourite places to meet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything. I really enjoyed the pub meal - it was a busy Friday night and the service was really quick.

The kids played in the free kids club and where supervised by staff, leaving the wife and I to enjoy a drink and a meal.

The place was very clean and staff friendly.

I will be coming back each time I go to cairns - that is for sure.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Australia Day Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Cazalys Cairns put on an amazing Australia Day celebration 26th January 2013. On the day there was The Great Aussie Meat Pie challenge where contestants have to down pies in record time for the chance to win $1,000. Very funny to watch. Kids activities were In the huge function room where there was a large jumping castle, face painters, clown & entertainment by the Bopstars. The whole club was decorated in Australia Day theme. All this was free. Staff were friendly & helpful. Special of the day at the clubs restaurant which is called Barassis was a Barassis Aussie meat pie with chips for $9.50. food & drinks at the club were affordable. Easily caught a bus from the city to Cazalys Cairns.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cazalys Cairns also viewed

 

Been to Cazalys Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cazalys Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.