We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for price, just forget about the service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brothers Leagues Club

Brothers Leagues Club
99-105 Anderson Street | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4053 1053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Family Fare, Australian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Brothers Leagues Club offer's plenty of options for lunch, dinner or a quick snack at Lanterns Cafe & Restaurant. The popular Buffet features Asian, Australian, Roasts, Desserts, Soups, Salads and even some extra special Ala Carte dishes you can select from to give your palate an even bigger boost!
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food for price, just forget about the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went on a Saturday night. Huge selection of hot and cold dishes. I really enjoyed the food and I certainly think it is worth it's value. Saturday nights are supposed to be a seafood night I think, but if you are like me and are gluten free and don't like seafood, there are still a lot of options. Dessert isn't really worth mentioning, I preferred to just fill up on the hot dishes instead.

On service, our table wasn't dressed with cutlery or serviettes and wasn't even wiped from the diners previous to us. I also noticed that everyone seemed to be getting 'complimentary' cheese bread except our table.. and we were members and celebrating a birthday too. It kind of felt like once they got you to your table, it's your duty from there on. Want drinks, a clean table, cutlery and serviettes? do it yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy J, Manager at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hi Beiberhole69,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lanterns. We appreciate all of your feedback :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    11
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Buffet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It's a buffet - not 5 star, but you're not paying 5 star prices.
Good value for money, the complimentary cheese bread was delicious.
The staff were all very friendly & efficient.
It's light, airy, clean & relaxing & bigger than it looks.
As mentioned in other reviews, the dishes are duplicated both ends of the servery, so there's not actually the variety you first think. However, there was ample variety of salads, veg, pastas, Asian, soups, 2 roast meats and fish as well as the delicious cakes, fruit, jelly, hot desserts, custard, cream, mousse and of course the soft serve ice cream machine.
We all left more than satisfied and will most certainly be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy J, Management at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi RozfromOz! First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Lanterns. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. The reason we have decided to duplicate the buffet is to ease congestion ensuring a better flow, reducing wait times. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback and we will see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
“Terrible Service not Once but TWICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Basically went up to Cashiers waited to be served whilst cashier just looked at me going about her duties. Duty manager standing there talking to another staff member clearly seeing me there waiting still stood around the three of them. Call me old fashion but where is the customer service these days. It takes one second to acknowledge a patron. Second time its happened!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy J, Management at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi Iteja89, Thanks for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I have sent you a private message as I would like to know more details surrounding your recent visit to our venue. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't go past it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Its Monday and we have just had another great lunch at Brothers. Lyn and her staff are friendly and very accommodating, there is an endless supply of tasty food, from the complimentary cheesy toast when you arrive to soup, salads, Asian and Carvery foods, lasagne, chips, spring rolls etc, deserts, including warm apple crumble and bread and butter pudding with a soft serve ice cream machine and toppings. Become a member for a couple of $$ and its even cheaper.This is the best all you can eat lunch in Cairns

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy J, Marketing at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hi Learne G!

We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Lanterns! Thank you for your support and your feedback :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We haven't been here for quite sometimes. Years ago we took the whole family for a buffet lunch here and it wasn't too bad, so we thought this time we'd be okay too. I must admit for $20 it's a good value for those who love their food regardless of the taste and qualities. Alas! I'm not one of those. The soup tasted a bit off and although there were varieties of food choices, none was presented in a way that was appealing. The green salad looked rather tired and limp. The Chinese food (which was never my favourite) didn't look too bad but I didn't try any of it. My Latte was made by an unhappy young man who ignored me while he was busy wiping down the counter. When he did finally acknowledge me it wasn't at all friendly. And the coffee was just average. I won't be back for the buffet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy J, at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi LaLiaLuna, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit. Thank you for your review and especially the detail you provided, your feedback will enable us to make improvements in the areas you have highlighted :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brothers Leagues Club also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Brothers Leagues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brothers Leagues Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.