We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Viet

Pho Viet
Orchid Plaza, 24 Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food in cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

So fresh and the people are so friendly and happy. Ate here everyday for the 3 months i spent in cairns. My fave restaurant in all of aus. Get the pork roll, beef pho and a Vietnamese Ice coffee. Yummmmm

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and enjoy the flavours...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Want to take a quick trip to Vietnam? Pho Viet is a small "cafe" in Orchid Plaza, between Abbott and Lake Sts near the bus terminal..

Authentic simple Viet food...

Pork roll.. Ban Mi Thit.. with pate.. add some chilli for the real taste..

Rice paper rolls of varying styles.. with dipping sauces..

Pho noodle soup..

and others...

All the cafe faves.. just close your eyes and the smell is like you are in country...

All very reasonably priced..

Orchid Plaza has a range of Asian restaurants..http://www.orchidplaza.com.au/.... you are not likely to be disappointed...

After your meal, go to the Japanese supermarket and finish off with green tea or black sesame ice cream.. yum! Be adventurous,... not the normal flavours there!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited this little hole in the wall eatery today after reading other recommendations. Very glad i did. My partner and i have only recently returned from a holiday in Vietnam, so the memory of the beautiful food flavours are still very fresh in our minds. The rice paper rolls are delicious and excellent value. Try them with the delicious satay sauce they offer. My partner didn't get to try the famous barbecue pork baguettes in Vietnam so chose it today at Pho Viet and was very glad he did. Try it with the fish sauce they offer and it really is a taste sensation. Once again, excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Loved the rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Flicking through the reviews on tripadvisor I came across this place and the title photo caught my eye. As it was close to the hotel I thought why not. The BBQ pork roll was fantastic. Great flavour and fresh. Also excellent value at $5. This is a food court place so don't expect a great atmosphere but great food, yes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for a bargain meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Only a small menu but for $11 it beats any restaurant. Good filling and true Vietnamese food. Try the 4 rice paper rolls for 8 bucks. Deliciousss

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Viet also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Pho Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Viet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.