We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Ricardo's

Little Ricardo's
191 Sheridan street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4051 5266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 428 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A truly romantic nook with its intimate setting and cossy bar,Little Ricardo's fully licenced pizzeria and trattoria offers nine recipes of pizza and a dozen varities of pasta,steak,local seafood and classic chicken and veal dishes.Open 6 nights a week monday to saturday from 5pm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a week in cairns we found this place on our last night. By far the best meal of our trip. Food was impeccable and service perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is a nice restaraunt with very friendly and courteous staff. The service was very good. We were a family of four (2 adults and a 13 year old boy and 12 year old girl). The range of cuisine was reasonable and of high quality. We enjoyed the choice of meals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expected it to be Good..and it was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Saturday night evening out with a friend. First time visit to Little Ricardos although had heard good reports. Very nice indeed. Lovely atmosphere with the choice to sit inside in the air con or outside beside the pool. Extensive menu, nice cosy little bar. Service was excellent and pleasant. We had the veal medallions with mushroom cream sauce and roasted potatoes with vegtables. Shared a desert cake later. Nice to see families out having dinner and obviously a popular place with locals. Ricardos is obviously getting it right and the recommendations by locals are accurate. We will be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food. Chicken schnitzel was so soft, like butter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My grand daughters absolutely loved their schnitzel and they are fussy eaters. My husband had the schnitzel too and I had sweet chilli prawns with rice. Decor is a bit boring in the restaurant but the meals make up for it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I still taste garlic!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant last night, the wait-staff were very friendly and attentive but the food was very average for the price! I had a pasta with basil, garlic and pine nuts a small size for nearly $20, it was creamy not like a pesto at all, yuck, it had so much garlic that after a few mouthfuls i couldnt taste anything else and this morning it is ruining my morning cuppa, there were no pine nuts and overall just terrible! My husband had a steak for about $32 that was tiny and served with chips, now he likes salt but the pepper gravy was so salty it was hard to eat! A little heavy handed on the herbs and spices guys and maybe try adding the ingredients advertised!
Great service, poor location for such high prices and terrible food, wont be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickconlon, chef and owner at Little Ricardo's, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I can't see how did you manage to taste the garlic in the morning ?as we all know you and your husband dinned on sat 20 of april you wrote and posted your review on sat 20 of april after dinning so back to my original question how did you taste the garlic the next morning ? remember it was so bad YOUR WORDS " i couldnt taste anything else and this morning it is ruining my morning cuppa".Your husband specificly asked for chips instead of our customery stir fry veg and herb potatoe Your table as you say was well serviced by our great staff yet you did not raise one of the issues you describe in your review to them, thus giving the restaurant an opportunity to resolve the issues this type of review and the fact that you wrote 6 other restaurant reviews on the same night is to say the least suspicious We are not perfect and everyones tastes and tollerance to flavor is different and we gladly adjust herbs and spices to allow for everyones taste even if it means a remake of the dish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Ricardo's also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Little Ricardo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Ricardo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.