We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky local Japanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy 4 10

Happy 4 10
82 Sheridan street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: new restaurant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky local Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was cute, atmospheric and really nice! We ordered (a lot) the prawn sushi rolls, some deep fried tofu with flush flakes and a tasty sauce, the spicy pork and the teriyaki chicken with Japanese dumplings and miso soup (told you it was a lot)! I'm sorry I don't remember all the Japanese names for the dishes! Was a really great feed, and I'd definitely go back there again :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had dinner here with a few friends. I had a set meal which was great value. Salmon was fresh and tastey- spicy sauce was out of a bottle but complemented the meal. Soft shell crab roll was a big let down! Guts still remained and all who had it felt a bit queezy late that night. ofu salad was great and made up for the crab roll. Decore is cute and the tables each have a service button so you can never be forgotten. Big tables available and very good service. Also has BYO which I am yet to take advantage of.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Would love to go here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atmosphere and lovely staff. Food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Love the decor and surroundings. Would definitely eat here again! The salads are really yum. Thanks Happy 4 10 for a great lunch!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“10 buck lunches at a quirky laneway cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This cute Asian-style cafe is tucked in a laneway next to a pub on the main highway in central Cairns. My two dining buddies and I all had $10 salads (but there was a heap of $10 lunch options). My beer - an Asahi - took the total price up to $17.50.

My salad consisted of deep fried tofu, greens, mandarin and dressing - basic, but good. The service was very friendly, but a little slow - it took a while for the food to arrive. Very relaxed atmosphere with some cute quirky decor. Felt a bit like one of Melbourne's laneway cafes, but with a summery vibe more suited to Cairns.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A beautiful hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I visited 'Happy 4 10' with friends in the evening for dinner and was more than impressed. Very friendly service, the deco is amazing - cozy - some people may think it's too early for a Christmas Tree and music but I love it. The food is very good value for money ranging from $10-$15 for good sized servings. The Tofu steak is devine! Very much also liked the Pork Katsu and Spicy Karn Chicken. It's also BYO and open till midnight so a good place to go after the cinema.

Overall, a great hidden gem down a lane way, great atmosphere and very good food. Will go there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy 4 10 also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Happy 4 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy 4 10, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.