We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central position” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel

Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   71 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Central position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Inn Cairns. Good sized apartment, nice sitting area, well equipped kitchen, comfy bed, decent shower over bath and laundry facilities. Central position with secure parking. We were on the back, which is very quiet, overlooking the pool area. Nice views towards the mountains.

In administration, so no daily house-keeping service or towel/linen change. No lights in BBQ area.
A/C needs updating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel. Great location opposite woolworths , near bus stops and transport hubs, walking distance to song great eateries . The rooms are large enough and nice little pool to cool off.

Great little hotel that allows you to explore cairns without paying over the top hotel costs. You can purchase breakfast for 10 bucks from the cafe directly outside the hotel. Plenty of 13 buck meal deals at all local pubs. Just don't lose your key as you will get slugged with a $ 50 call out free. Overall a nice place right in the thick of things in cairns .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

HI,
I stayed at Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel from 23 - 27 Sept. It was very very good. The late check in (i arrived at 4AM) went without any drama. The room was very clean. I slept like a baby. I did not hear any noise.
The location for me was perfect. Just over 5 mins to the Convention Centre. The shops are close by etc etc etc.
I would come back any time.
jacques

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel. That is probably quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The great thing about this apartment hotel is the location right in the centre of town so it's within easy walking distance of Cairns Central and the Esplanade in either direction. On the downside its central location has its drawbacks. The noise from the street outside can be offputting particularly at weekends and the dreaded leafblower machines at 6 am can wake you up with a start. The one bedroom apartment I had faced the poolside so it was not too noisy.

The one bedroom apartments are fairly basically furnished but have everything one really needs for a comfortable stay with a kitchenette and ensuite laundry. The balcony was a bit small but the ground floor apartments have a sizeable outside terrace.

Very helpful management but the reception is closed quite early.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our one night there was terrible - this place is directly above a strip club, and we couldn't have a conversation over dinner because of the loud music from different competing venues in the area. The strip club kept going until the wee hours of the morning, with arrests taking place outside our window at regular intervals throughout the night.

The apartment itself was tired and dark. When the music and noise from outside finally stopped, we had trouble getting to sleep because the windowless bedroom was incredibly hot. We tried turning the air conditioner on, but it was so old-fashioned that it made one side of the bedroom freezing cold while the old side stayed hot - there was a clear difference of several degrees, and we kept swapping sides when one of us got too cold and the other got too hot.

I booked this hotel based partly it getting quite good reviews on this site. I absolutely cannot understand how the other reviews is the case, or indeed, which hotel the reviewers stayed it.

My recommendation is to stay here only if the purpose of your trip is to spend quality time at a loud strip club and then walk home in less than a minute.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spacious, well equipped apartment opposite buses and supermarket. Inn Cairns is an easy walk to the waterfront, eateries and library. The washer and dryer meant we didn't return home with a case of dirty clothes. There is a terrific micro/convection oven, but not much cookware for it. However, oven bags work well in convection mode and can be placed in an ovenproof dish or plate from the tableware. I also travel with a microwave dish anyway. There is also a cook-top. The manager Marie was an absolute delight, very friendly and helpful. We will return to the Inn Cairns next year.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front get street noise, however being in the centre of town, there is a bit of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“INN CAIRNS” offers 38 luxury, Boutique Four Star Apartments located in the heart of Cairns business and retail precinct (nestled amongst major Banks, Post Office, Newsagent, Supermarkets, diagonally opposite to Lake Street liquor outlet and local buses to all destinations at your front door): approx. 5 minutes walk to the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, Lagoon, Esplanade, Restaurants, Clubs, Hotels and prominent Shopping Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.