We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   71 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Upon check in we were greeted by Selwyn - one of the Managers of the Inn Cairns - who was so enthusiastic and helpful. He seems to know everyone in Cairns and always had excellent recommendations for tours, meals and trips!

The Inn Cairns has free parking, is within walking distance to the Esplanade and are all self-contained apartments. The official photos are (unbelievably) exactly how the rooms look and we kept very clean throughout our stay. The air-conditioning was a little noisy and we could hear a bit of noise from party goers outside (the front faces the mall/bus stops and the back faces Gilligan's Backpackers) but that didn't really bother us. The bedrooms are at the front of each apartment which all have a light in the corridor outside so there was a bit of light coming through into our room during the night.

There is a pool area with a BBQ and two floors of roof top seating which would be great for a family or group of friends if you wanted to eat together but not at a restaurant.

I would most definintely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

These apartment style rooms are wonderful! Clean, big, they have almost everything you need. I would recommend to them that they splurge on putting dishwasher soap, a sponge and papertowels in the kitchen though. I wanted to clean the dishes but we only stayed for four nights and was not about to buy all this stuff just to leave it there, so did the dishes a "different" way. The pool was popular and the grills all ready to use. The bedrooms could be a little loud as they were in the front of the units, but we had no problem sleeping. What really made this hotel a great stay was the location, the staff and how clean it was. The location is right across from the grocery store, close to great restaurants and bars and public transportation as well as an easy walk to the pier to catch any charters or tours. The upstairs area was a great place for an evening drink and to watch the nightly bat migration! Also close to the fruit market. The staff was overwhelmingly helpful and give you a virtual package of everything you could possibly need in Cairns when you arrive. They were so quick to help and had great advice. Every person we saw at the staff desk was great! The cleaning staff is wonderful too. Felt like an apartment with fariy godmothers taking care of all our messes! We had a nice stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay for extras, but that is like most of Australia these days, so no big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed here several times now and have always found Selwyn and crew to be fabulously helpful and just genuinely nice people.

If you're looking for something central to all that the city gives, then this is the place to do it. Walking distance to all pubs, clubs and eateries as well as the terminal for catching reef tours and Green Island ferries etc. Not to mention the Esplanade, Esplanade pool and bbq's being just one short block stroll away. Bus' to your door, supermarket and bottle shop across the road, just handy.

The apartments are simple, clean and have a washer / dryer. Beds are comfortable and even the pull out couch isn't too bad to sleep on if needed. Can get a bit of noise from Rusty's backpackers on a Thursday / Friday nights but I would think anywhere in the city would be subject to noise on party nights - it is Cairns after all, backpackers keep the place going.

Twentyfour hour check in, tours can be arranged, rental cars and if you are away for a few days and coming back, your stuff can be stored too.

In the mall downstairs - Oceania Walk - you will find the best damn coffee in Cairns at Cruze Coffee.

Can't wait to go back.......its like going home. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in this apartment hotel for a good week and it worked out very well. Everything you could wish for is available, including washing machine and dryer. Management and staff friendly and helpful. Loved the place and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the BEST place to stay in Cairns.
Great rooms, sparkling clean and airy and fully self-contained.
Great location - walk to everything. Bus depot outside the entrance.
Fantastic service, management couldn't be more welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When we first entered our room, a damp musty smell hit us, but that soon cleared after a few windows were opened. The room was fairly tidy and was in good condition. As we were there to see the reef, we didn't spend much time in the other facilities such as the pool, but it looked ok from our balcony. The view we got was a whole heap of rusted tin roofs, but that wasn't that bad. Not the best ever, but worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed there as a couple for two nights while visiting the Daintree Forrest and before leaving to the Great Barrier Reef.
The manager warmly welcomed at the beginning. That is to say until he understood that we had already pre-booked our local sightseeing trips and that we would book nothing through him (so no commission, I guess). From there on he would not even answer our question whether the weather was supposed to stay sunny or not (“I am not the Australian meteorological service”).
Rooms are okay, large, separate living and bedroom, washer and dryer. The kitchen is well-equipped, though there is no oven.
We had paid half the room rate in advance and had offered to pay the remainder on the day of our arrival. This was refused as the unnecessary. Still, our credit card was charged with the remainder early on the morning of our planned departure, without asking us whether we wanted to pay cash or by card. We would have preferred to pay the remainder by cash. We remarked at the reception that we would have appreciated it, as a courtesy, to ask us beforehand how we wanted to pay. To that the manager just rudely pointed out that this is the law in Australia and that the general terms and conditions stated that he had to pay the bill on the night before leaving. He pointed out that he was not disposed to remind clients of this, independently of how often they may have passed in front of the reception on the day before leaving or their having propose to pay at check-in. So we dropped the matter wondering what earn just this kind of tone, especially since we did not want to have our credit card refund. Also, this was the first time that this kind of thing had happened in a three-week trip to Australia. Up to that time we had never been asked to pay on the day before leaving, rather on the day of arrival or on the day of leaving. When we finally checked out the manager harangued us again, now with an underlined copy of the general terms and conditions. He wanted us to admit that we had been doing wrong. I guess that is what they teach in hospitality classes at Pyongyang hotel management classes: “Never give in to a remark of the client, especially if he is not asking for anything”.
Until now we do not understand what we have done wrong and why he shouted at us. We left the hotel with him screaming after us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“INN CAIRNS” offers 38 luxury, Boutique Four Star Apartments located in the heart of Cairns business and retail precinct (nestled amongst major Banks, Post Office, Newsagent, Supermarkets, diagonally opposite to Lake Street liquor outlet and local buses to all destinations at your front door): approx. 5 minutes walk to the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, Lagoon, Esplanade, Restaurants, Clubs, Hotels and prominent Shopping Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.