We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cheap in the centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hides Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Hides Hotel Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Charming and cheap in the centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Historical and charming Hides hotel is in the very centre of Cairns, 10min walking to piers and to the train.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms were OK, just as expected for the price. The ceiling fan was a nice addition to the AC unit as it was quieter and sufficient during the night.
Breakfast consisted of toast with jam on peanut butter (or vegemite for people lacking taste buds), boiled eggs and orange juice. Quite OK since it's included, if it's unsatisfactory there's plenty of alternatives right outside.
If we ever return to Cairns we'll probably stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    84
    54
    34
    15
See reviews for
21
87
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed one night here on my tropical holiday after I couldn't get a fourth night at the Mantra Esplanade at the discounted rate. Staff are friendly and welcoming. There's no $100 deposit or credit card imprint required on check-in, which was a bonus because I was at the end of my trip and low on funds. Not the nicest room, bur adequate. My TV didn't work and the air conditioner only worked with the door key in it. Since noone explained that, I spent a miserable two hours in a stuffy room with sunburn, until I did some investigating and worked it out. My room opened up to a large balcony, which gave my stay a taste of colonial, tropical North Qld. And you could smoke out there too. Free continental breakfast of cereals, toast and boiled eggs filled me up for my trip home to Sydney. So while I probably wouldn't to stay for more than a few nights, for the price, it was a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel twice now and I'm always pleased with the great value it offers and the location. You can get to the bus stops, supermarket etc... within a couple of minutes. The rooms, as has been said before, are basic but they have everything you need for a base. I really appreciated there being a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was large (shower only) and clean.

My favourite thing about this hotel is the breakfast setting. People who have reviewed it are right, there isn't the biggest range of choice but it's free and you get to sit outside and watch the birds and relax over breakfast which was great. I'm happy with juice, tea, toast and jams so I loved it!! It's the thing that made me go back there again!

It does have the internet but it was quite expensive. Good range of tour material in the lobby and they were happy to book us a bus for a trip we did to Port Douglas.

The only thing that I wasn't happy with on the 2nd visit was that I had a room above a bar on a weekend and there was a live band playing, no matter how tightly I closed the windows, curtains, turned the tv up it was still very loud!

Overall I would stay here again but maybe take earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located right in the middle of everything in Cairns, very nice location.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Room was clean and tidy. Not the prettiest room ever, but it was alright. Bed was comfy enough.
For the price, I would stay here again.
The breakfast was quite poor, and we ended up getting brekkie at a breakfast spot right around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Overall a satisfying stay due to the convenient location and good price off Agoda.com . Rooms were old and abit run down though. Friendly hotel receptionists, and fantastic buffet breakfast (if only we could wake up in time to enjoy more)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Since we were traveling with our family we needed multiple rooms. The price was right, but would the hotel be clean? Yes, we were pleased to discover. For a basic accommodation the rooms were clean. Keep in mind you get what you pay for, as the only amenity is the hotels location to the promenade, Pier and Casino. Also, they do provide quite the nice breakfast on their verandah which came in handy with our teenage boys. We did have a bit of a hiccup at checkin but the front desk staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were taken care of. If you plan on spending your time and money in Cairns on outdoor activities then this is a great place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It's not the newest place but was clean and comfortable and was centrally located near shops and the lagoon. Breakfast is served out on the big verandah upstairs overlooking the town centre. The Paleo cafe is also around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hides Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.