We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for The Price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hides Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Hides Hotel Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location for The Price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Since we were traveling with our family we needed multiple rooms. The price was right, but would the hotel be clean? Yes, we were pleased to discover. For a basic accommodation the rooms were clean. Keep in mind you get what you pay for, as the only amenity is the hotels location to the promenade, Pier and Casino. Also, they do provide quite the nice breakfast on their verandah which came in handy with our teenage boys. We did have a bit of a hiccup at checkin but the front desk staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were taken care of. If you plan on spending your time and money in Cairns on outdoor activities then this is a great place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    88
    61
    34
    15
See reviews for
25
90
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It's not the newest place but was clean and comfortable and was centrally located near shops and the lagoon. Breakfast is served out on the big verandah upstairs overlooking the town centre. The Paleo cafe is also around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A girlfriend and I booked the budget room with shared bathroom. We found the room fine and the included breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from. Staff were unreal but our two single beds belonged on the tip. We had an unserviced room but were able to change our own sheets which was great. When we removed our sheets to remake the bed we nearly died when we seen what we were sleeping on. We were upgraded to another room which we very much appreciated, just be worned, check under the sheets. Hotel staff was so obliging and friendly but owner needs to spend some money on things that count and maintenance.Hotel is central to everything and we walked everywhere. Unbelievable 8 days.Would stay again but would check the bed first.

Room Tip: Rooms with there own bathrooms were much cleaner than the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This motel room was basic but clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. The free continental breakfast on the old hotel verandah is an added bonus and a good place to meet and swap travel tips with other guests. There were3 drawbacks, my double bed on castors slid when I sat on it (indicating a basic quality bed and base) and there is on
Y one power point, located on a poor angle for recharging in the bathroom. Lastly the wifi is only accessible on the verandah or lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a motel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Firstly I'd like to add that this hotel was so quirky and an really an interesting building - it had lots if character ! However , we definitely had one of the ' oldest' rooms , as I peaked in others and they were completely different , modern and very clean. Our room on the other hand was stifling hot ( had noisy air con) , was quite dusty and was opposite a very noisy bar that was open till the early hours! I would definitely ask for one of the new rooms that's quiet and you will have no issues! On the plus side , the staff were lovely , location very good , the hotel was quirky and there was free breakfast which we didn't have in other budget hotels!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A very good, budget place to stay. Rooms are a decent size and are clean. Service is efficient and most staff are friendly. The breakfast on the terrace is lovely. Both the pool area and the verandah need freshening up, otherwise all good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at this great heritage hotel before and on every occasion we have been treated so well by all staff member at this centrally located 'home away from home'. The rooms are well provided with large screen television , a little fridge (which is not a mini bar) and a beautiful King size bed.

Sharon booked a day trip to Fitzroy Island Resort at a cheaper price than the advertised "special" price. Breakfast was lovely especially the Saturday hot breakfast. We stayed 4 nights and we were surprised at the price of the taxi fare to the air port as the return fare was under $20 ! Visit the Court House Hotel and of course P J O'Brien's for their great Guinness pie.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the newer section. Some of the older rooms have trouble with TV receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hides Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.