We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Save Saved
You added Hides Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days and found my stay enjoyable, The breakfast was very good, The reception staff were very helpful, My room was basic and clean which is all I needed, The location is superb everything that I wanted was within walking distance, As for the noise factor that everyone complains about in previous reviews of this Hotel well I did not here any noise in my stay here, besides 1 bloke yelling at someone late at night outside the Hotel which is to be expected as it was on a Saturday night.. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that stays in Cairns !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    82
    49
    34
    14
See reviews for
19
77
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I would not recommend this hotel. Of particular concern was that the poor sound proofing meant that we barely slept a wink - it was so noisy outside and there was no escape from this racket. Our room was reasonably clean but very rundown with worn and torn bedding and towels and the hallway was grimy and stale smelling. On the other hand it was good to have secure parking provided close by. The whole place needs a serious makeover as in its current state it offers poor value for money and a generally unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great experience here - the room was clean and comfy and had everything we needed. Reception was very helpful when needed and breakfast on the terrace each morning was a nice option to have. The location is unbeatable, literally in the heart of Cairns and close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just as the title says, the hotel was awful, the room was OK and the location was spot on. On arrival the receptionist was rude and unhelpful. It was a very unpleasant looking hotel from the outside, and from the reception. The room was a little better, 4 single beds, but, as they were on wheels during the night they moved A LOT. I ended up having a kingsize type bed with the girl next to me!! (We were friends so it was ok!) The plug sockets were shoddy, a couple were coming out of the wall - dangerous.
The bathroom was huge, really decent shower, 2 sinks, no problems there at all.
The location was great, by that I mean central, 5 minute walk to night market, bus station right outside. Sitting on the communal balcony there seemed to be a little square where the local drunks would hang out. Three times in two days I saw police with these drunks. I wouldn't like to be a lone female walking around there at night time.
On the whole, depending on what you want you could stay here for a relatively cheap stay, but, there are much better places in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The HIdes is in a great location in the center of everything and close to the ferry terminal. Our room had a nice sized refrigerator, queen bed, twin bed, and nice bathroom. We actually stayed two separate nights as we took the ferry to Fitzroy. The continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs, different varieties of breads and spreads, cereals, juice, etc. We didn't need anything else until dinner. The managers can recommend tours and restaurants and are most accommodating. Rooms to the back are the quietest. Breakfast is on the balcony of the heritage original building with lovely views. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back, away from the street are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a Heritage Ensuite for two nights for $75 per night. The room we were given was in the middle of the hotel which did have a noisy air conditioner unit outside the window. We called reception and they immediately sent someone up to show us to a new room. The new room was larger with a double and a single bed. The room, bathroom, etc. were clean, and everything including the TV worked well. The room was very quiet. Breakfast was a choice of 4 cereals, boiled eggs, tea, coffee, toast and various spreads. Buses leave from out front of the hotel and Woolworths is across the road for all your shopping. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would come back again.

Room Tip: The rooms are cheaper if you book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews and booked an ensuite room in the newer part of the hotel - note: newer is a relative term here!
Size-wise the room was terrific. The bathroom was also very big for motel-type accommodation. Not usually a bad thing except here, the towel rail was as far from the shower as it could possibly be. You had to leave your towel on the floor to pick it up after your shower or, if left on the rail, traipse quite a few steps to get it. But the oddities didn't end there. The shower taps were "outside" the shower! Reachable but you dripped water everywhere if you wanted to adjust the temperature.
In the bedroom - to turn off the reading lamps once you were in bed you needed six foot (2 metre!) arms or else you had to get out of bed to turn the light off. Not good if you'd fallen asleep while reading in bed.
Real problems (rather than idiosyncracies) ...
i) Cleanliness and Housekeeping - leaves a lot to be desired. Hairs from previous guests floated about the bathroom. Daily housekeeping (3 night stay) was limited to non-existent.
ii) Noise - from outside traffic, pubs, clubs and inside fellow guests - not a peep. However, my room suffered from the constant hum of airconditioning units on the wall opposite my room. Also, I didn't dare open my window for fresh air for fear of what pollutants might come from chimney vents that finished at window height. I don't know how building regs could not insist that the chimney vents be considerably higher than they were so as to clear the windows.
Good points ....
i) the verandah is wonderful .... provided there are no smokers there
ii) breakfast is plentiful. It's more what you'd have at home than the rich stuff you too often indulge in when you're on holidays. I really appreciated that.
iii) Position - absolutely central Cairns
Overall, in spite of the drawbacks, I'd stay here again ... trying for a room further away from the airconditioners.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hides Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.