We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It shouldn't be allowed to operate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It shouldn't be allowed to operate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place could be so good,so centrally located,but unfortunately none of the staff cares.!We spent 4 days at this hotel and not once they even entered our room,or changed our towels,so everything is allowed to rot!The room was once large and comfortable but is now dirty and smelly,,carpet has large stains and shower lots of mould,we bought a mat and used the shower wearing sandals,we didn't mind so much the lack of tea or coffee facilities but were expecting at least basic hygene!Reception is mostly unattended and when there is someone he/she completly ignores you anyway,nobody seems to speak a word of English,we committed the grave error of paying in advance during Melbourne Cup period and had no choice but stay there until we found better accommodation.I honestly dont understand how this place is allowed to operate in this country,I have worked in restaurants for many years and health inspectors visit regularly and are quite strict about hygene,do they close both eyes for this place?!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
3
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Check in was meant to be 2pm, we were not allowed to enter the room until 4pm.
The smell of the establishment on the street was putrid.
The carpets in the hallway stunk, and were extremely dirty.
The room itself did not have any sugar, coffee or tea, no spoons for stirring.
The main Air conditioner and television did not work at all.
The bath/shower facilities were disgusting, with the paint and flooring peeling to the point where I did not feel safe using them for fear of "catching" something.
When we came back from dinner, my partner gagged at the smell from the outside and when we went upstairs the cooking oil wafting up from the Chinese restaurant next door permeated throughout the entire floor/hallway. We choked and gagged on the oil and nearly had an asthma attack. I could not believe how much oil was in the air.

Overall I thought the $129 that we paid for this room was totally overpriced and I would definitely NOT recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked this hotel prior to reading the reviews. When I did read the reviews, it was already late. This is more like an apartment than a hotel. I stayed in room 116, there were some Chinese living in the room infront of my room. I came to know that many of them are staying there as tenants.
The room was very dirty, esp. floor. The internet didn't work for the first 3 days. I complained to the staff many times but they were helpless. The room was cleaned only once in the 7 days I stayed there. No change of towel and bed sheet. I believe the room-cleaner doesn't have a vacuum cleaner or else the room would have been better. The most disgusting of all was the bathroom. The sink was pretty much useless, water would get stuck. The toilet pan was filthy and old. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the owner seems to care about nothing. You can stay at better places with the amount of money you will pay here. I strongly recommend to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thursday Island, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have always enjoyed staying at this motel, because it is close to everything. The previous owner kept that place clean and made it comfortable, this is going back 1999 to 2006.
My experience at the hotel was appalling and I will never stay in that hotel again and I would highly recommend that to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay.
I was put in 3 different room, first room air con doesn't work, second room light doesn't have a bulb in it and third was the worst of all, door to balcony doesn't lock properly, air con has towel around to either stop it leaking or fall out of the wall and the frame keep falling out of the air con. Also, the TV doesn't work in the room.
I encourage other guests to look somewhere else to stay, it doesn't worth it, the location is excellent, just not the motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic as it is in the city centre so a quick walk to the Casino, Esplanade etc. However the room itself was dirty; there were creepy crawlies on the walls and carpet, the table didn't appear to have been moved when vacuuming as there was piles of dust and hair in behind the table legs and the bathroom needed a good scrub with heavy duty bleach. The manager, whom I saw earlier in the day cleaning recently vacated rooms, had to be called to get the small fridge and tv to work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We staying at the hotel for 3 weeks total, the last week of the stay, there was no hot water at all for entire week! Staffs were not informative at all, everyday i had to go and ask if there's gonna be hot water, and they seems like they don't care at all.

Finally i asked for compensation because one week without hot water is not acceptable, and staff does not respond at all, they show little care about guests' comfort and did not want to take care any problem.

Please do not consider this hotel, The location is great but it's not cheaper and it's not better serviced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had been in this hotel many times a few years ago. Right in the middle of Cairns tourist area.
Small door and stairs but NOW thereis an elevator !
Rooms ar medium size, bed good, simple complete bathroom with shower.
Smallish TV, Hot water machine for offee or tea.
Seems to be run by Chinese. There is an area by front desk with kitchen gear,,you can cook your food, Supermaket 30 yards away with all the food in the world.internet shops and any tourist gear shop around.20 yards from entrance there is a 2 levels mall with Sushi, Korean and anything else you want to eat, I am glad I came back

Room Tip: Rooms at end of corridor are next to washing/dryer can be used until 9pm My room was at end 214, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: 69 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, 33-room boutique hotel with a perfect inner city location. All tours pick up from the hotel front door. Shopping, dining and entertainment within meters from the Hotel. Reception and tour desk is open 24 hours a day and our friendly staff is here to provide you with a personal superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.