We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Village Tropical Retreat to your Saves list
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom with kitchenette on 1st floor. Staff very friendly and helpful. I loved it was so clean & had a good relaxing feel about the place. The Balinese restaurant was just superb and you could also get takeaway which was handy. We looked into this place beforehand and knew it was approx 25min walk to Marlin Wharf - which we enjoyed the exercise or bus was just around the corner. The bed was very comfortable but the pool a bit cold to swim, otherwise our stay was very enjoyable. We thought the price was very good value and would not hesitate in staying again. There is also a convenience store almost across the road. This is in the hospital area which wasn't a bother at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night after a 7 day dive trip. The foyer and pool area are very nice , designed on a Balinese theme, with the rooms off this central area.
We had a studio room which was spacious with a comfy bed, but furnishings were quite tired. On the surface, it looked quite clean, but after walking barefoot on the tiled floors for a few minutes our feet were filthy. I moved the microwave to plug the kettle in, and the area behind was thick with old dust and crumbs. The kitchenette was basic and served us for a one night stay, but was poorly equipped had we been staying any longer. Only two glasses, blunt knives, two tiny tea cups. The windows had no insect screens, so we had to use the air con to cool the room, which worked fine, but fresh air would have been nicer.
No laundry in the room but a guest laundry was available. It was $4 per wash and $4 per dry. No free wifi- which lots of other hotels seemed to offer and which is free in Cairns itself, so not sure why they charge for it here.
Quite a long walk to the main area of town but close to the airport.
Served its purpose but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and found our stay quite comfortable but nothing special. Rooms were clean and spacious. We found it was a long walk to the downtown core and dock area but I suppose the exercise was good for us. Took a taxi once and got stiffed by the driver who pretended to not know where the motel was and went far past the hotel and then doubled back. There is a charge for wi-fi although they allowed us to use the computers in the lobby for free so we could check emails. Staff was helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is excellent. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel was decent enough, but below our expectations. Quite a long walk to all the restaurants and the cairns lagoon.The staff is quite friendly and helpful. We had come der for our honeymoon and i feel we made the wrong choice by choosing this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spend 3 nights in room 402 which was a 2 bedroom apartment. The living area and kitchen where big. There where 2 bathrooms and our building had its own outside swimming pool.
The area is quiet at night an in the morning.

The staff at the reception was uttermost friendly and booked our tours which was very convenient. Since at the surroundings there where a lot of prices on the wall about the award winning restaurant, we decided to go for it and it was a blessing. :) ... the restaurant is highly advisable.

Except for the lagoon, the great barrier reef and the big shopping area at the central station, Cairns has not a lot to offer. It's approximately a 15 minute walk until the touristic center of Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It claims to be a 3 star hotel. by however the rooms are highly ok. I had specially written to them that I am coming for my honeymoon and still they allotted me a bad room. The Placement of the TV in the room is right next to the bed which makes it next to impossible to watch . And there were a lot of ants in the room. However they have a nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Please Check the rooms they are allotting you. The rooms in the corner on the 1st floor is really ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pritipase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bay village is not a luxury hotel, but is an excellent value within walking distance of the Espalande. The restaurant is a gem, we were told by many locals it is one of their favorite places to go. Clean an unassuming a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#8 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#22 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing