We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Balinese Motel to your Saves list
Balinese Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our third attempt at finding a decent place to stay in cairns for our week long trip. It was clean and confortable, but nothing really memorable here. The continental breakfast was literally just bread. No frills at all, but they do have coin op laundry, ac, tv, and the beds were quite comfortable. We would stay there again!

For not too much more money you might look for a place a little closer to the main strip. This was still quite a walk!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
42
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Spent two nights here, the motel is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. Close to the CBD and the rate includes continental breakfast. Juice, tea, coffee, cereal and toast, basic but enough. Bed was comfortable and the surrounds were quiet. Didnt use the shuttle to the airport but they have one. Could use a light over the desk so that it was easier to work but that would be my only negative.

Room Tip: It is a walk up to the next floor so if stair are an issue that ask for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I booked this motel through a local tour agent who had recommended this place for our 3-night stay. It was economically priced as we were going to out most of the two days stay.
We arrived in the afternoon and managed to book in just before the heavy rainfall.
To book the shuttle you can use the telephone at the airport and it is at no cost.
However, there was some confusion as where at the airport we were to be picked up. My advice would be to check and confirm which pick up point you would be waiting as there one where only taxis are allowed.
The place is manned by someone during most of the day expect when the person has gone for a pick up of drop off to the airport.
The room was clean and had AC and a large TV.
There was a reasonably equipped kitchen downstairs near the pool area. It was self-service breakfast of cereal, toast, milk and orange juice.
There is free use of the Internet in the kitchen for one to check their emails.
The location was a little bit of a distance from the main CBD in Cairns which is on the right as you come out of the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This motel was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast provided was fine and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to Cairns and stayed four nights in the Balinese hotel. Overall, it was about what I expected...nothing too fancy but nice enough that I wasn't depressed or grossed out about staying there. The rooms were clean and nicely laid out with solid AC and a large TV. We booked this place mainly due to the airport pickup and wifi. We did have to wait almost 45 minutes for the shuttle to come which was a little disappointing after finding out the hotel is less than a 10 minute drive from the airport. The wifi was also a little buggy at times. Breakfast consisted of toast and cereal....pretty basic but was nice to have. The location was a little bit of a hike from the main CBD in Cairns but we enjoyed the walk to and from along the esplanade. Some days, we wished it were closer. But overall, for the value and the nice room, it was a solid place to stay. We also had a slight misunderstanding with the shuttle to the airport on our way out, but they worked it out and provided the customer service I expected. I would recommend staying here for a solid, no thrills hotel in Cairns!

Room Tip: Room 17 was much better than 19...we stayed in two rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The bedroom was really nice, air conditioning and a really comfortable atmosphere. The bathroom was fine; the pool was small but nice for a dip and to relax. The Kitchen was clean and had everything we needed. Got picked up at the airport no charge (just let them know when your coming, otherwise there is a special phone at the airport to contact the hotels). They also dropped us back for our next flight (Sweet).
I felt really relaxed at this place. It is a 10 min walk into the centre of town and if you haven't been to Cairns use the map they provide, however it was very affordable and I felt they went the extra mile to make the rooms really special eg. Nice furniture, no tacky useless stuff and very clean. Service was good. Will go there again :D

Room Tip: Look at reveiws. There is no lift to the second floor, tell them before hand if you need a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Pretty nice place, kindly staff, nice swimming pool and pretty close of the down town (10 mn walking).
This hostel should be greater for a couple or family instead a solo backpacker.
Rooms are very nice and confortable, kitchen are clean, u can go there without any surprise.
The only bad point perhaps, due to the low season, is there isn't more people for meet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balinese Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.