We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is exactly what you come to expect of staying at YHA. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms and facilities were clean. It is reasonably well located and has a good atmosphere. Didn't really exceed expectations at all however and hence 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
1
33
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked two nights here, but once we checked in we tried to get a refund for our second night.

It's very dirty, our duvet was vile - I wouldn't even let my dog sleep in it. The kitchen was very bare and extremely dirty, wifi costs money and is EXTREMELY slow (couldn't even Skype), was EXTREMELY noisy at night, staff weren't very helpful or friendly (excluding small Asian lady, she was friendly) I couldn't go on.

The only positive was the shower - that was good.

Wouldn't go near his place if I were you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Hostels, Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ash,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Cairns Central YHA. We are incredibly disappointed to read of your negative experience and have immediately raised these issues with our team.

We do of course strive to exceed our guests expectations- whether this be regarding the cleanliness of our hostel or the efficiency and friendliness of our guest service; and I apologise that we failed to deliver this to you this time. We have strict procedures regarding the cleaning of both our communal areas and our guest rooms, and I have just now reiterated these to our Housekeeping team. The management team and I have now personally checked each room to ensure that these standards are being met.

Once again, I do apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I hope that you allow us an opportunity to welcome you to our hostel again, so we can show you that your experience is not reflective of the standard of service we usually provide at Cairns Central YHA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Personally I loved this place and would have stayed way longer! The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful probably one of the best I've been at! The location is quite good! You are right next to a supermarket so if you need to buy food or get anything done (mobile phone or whatever). Rooms were clean, people were friendly. 15 minute walk from the harbor which I found was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was included and kitchen was well stocked. Bathrooms were clean and gender segregated. Stayed in a private room that was bare and basic but clean. Security met my standards and I felt safe. Location could be better. Is right across from mall but 10-15 min walk from water front.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a wonderful time, met some very nice people. We had our own room, found it very quiet after hours to get some much needed rest. Good location near services. All kinds of trip advice, thank you to your staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night only. Staff were unfriendly and couldn't even look up from their computers. Internet was a minimum of $4 for an hour which sounds fine except you need nearly the whole hour just to get access as the speed is soooo slow. The kitchen was open and the sparrows were flying in and out and sitting on the bench tops - I may as well have camped in a tent. Rooms were small and airless and it felt more like a detention centre than a hostel. Way better options in Cairns. Stay away unless you're desperate!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am of course sincerely disappointed to hear of your negative experience and am taking immediate action to address the issues you have listed.

I have logged your complaint regarding the speed of our guest internet with our provider and they will be investigating this concern as priority. I have also spoken to my team regarding the importance of providing exemplary customer service at all times; we are more than happy to assist in any way we can, but I do apologise if our systems were unable to look up the information you required during your night with us.

Our open style kitchen is mostly enjoyed by our guests, but I have taken on board your concerns and we are looking at measures to improve this moving forward. We are also in the process of updating all our rooms to give them additional facilities with a modern feel.

Once again, I do apologise that the service you received was not indicative of the usual standard of service we strive to provide here at Cairns Central YHA.

Kind Regards,

Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Very clean bathrooms with good showers. Very good kitchen which is well-equipped, although a little small. Dorms are very clean with comfortable beds, lockers and efficient air con. Brilliant pool. Free pancakes for breakfast every morning. Shuttle service to the airport for $14pp. Good staff particularly cleaning staff who do a superb job.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA winners of the 2012 Tropical Tourism North Queensland Award for Best Backapckers is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, internet cafe, TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA Travel office at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.