We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Personally I loved this place and would have stayed way longer! The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful probably one of the best I've been at! The location is quite good! You are right next to a supermarket so if you need to buy food or get anything done (mobile phone or whatever). Rooms were clean, people were friendly. 15 minute walk from the harbor which I found was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
3
42
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was included and kitchen was well stocked. Bathrooms were clean and gender segregated. Stayed in a private room that was bare and basic but clean. Security met my standards and I felt safe. Location could be better. Is right across from mall but 10-15 min walk from water front.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a wonderful time, met some very nice people. We had our own room, found it very quiet after hours to get some much needed rest. Good location near services. All kinds of trip advice, thank you to your staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night only. Staff were unfriendly and couldn't even look up from their computers. Internet was a minimum of $4 for an hour which sounds fine except you need nearly the whole hour just to get access as the speed is soooo slow. The kitchen was open and the sparrows were flying in and out and sitting on the bench tops - I may as well have camped in a tent. Rooms were small and airless and it felt more like a detention centre than a hostel. Way better options in Cairns. Stay away unless you're desperate!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am of course sincerely disappointed to hear of your negative experience and am taking immediate action to address the issues you have listed.

I have logged your complaint regarding the speed of our guest internet with our provider and they will be investigating this concern as priority. I have also spoken to my team regarding the importance of providing exemplary customer service at all times; we are more than happy to assist in any way we can, but I do apologise if our systems were unable to look up the information you required during your night with us.

Our open style kitchen is mostly enjoyed by our guests, but I have taken on board your concerns and we are looking at measures to improve this moving forward. We are also in the process of updating all our rooms to give them additional facilities with a modern feel.

Once again, I do apologise that the service you received was not indicative of the usual standard of service we strive to provide here at Cairns Central YHA.

Kind Regards,

Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Very clean bathrooms with good showers. Very good kitchen which is well-equipped, although a little small. Dorms are very clean with comfortable beds, lockers and efficient air con. Brilliant pool. Free pancakes for breakfast every morning. Shuttle service to the airport for $14pp. Good staff particularly cleaning staff who do a superb job.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Creek, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staff was friendly but that is about the only good thing we can say about this YHA. If you are not a smoker then this is a very uncomfortable place to stay. Spend a few extra dollars and stay at a better establishment.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at a cleaner establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Terri,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Cairns Central YHA. We take all customer feedback back very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I would like to apologise for the experience you had with the cleanliness of the hostel, while you were staying there. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager who was disappointed to read your feedback and has discussed your feedback with the cleaning staff, to ensure our high level of cleanliness is being met. Also currently the smoking area's are being reviewed to ensure all guests have a comfortable stay.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Super convenient to everything in cairns. Really enjoyed my stay, Staff were super friendly & i got a full refund for having to check out early due to travel commitments highly recommend it, Pool & Jacuzzi were the perfect place to cool down Price is really good aswell.

Room Tip: I booked in to a single room, When i got there they had double booked my room so they upgraded me fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#15 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#39 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA Travel office at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.