We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Days Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropic Days Backpackers to your Saves list
Tropic Days Backpackers
26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms and hostel were very clean. The kitchen was big enough and well stocked. The staff were very friendly and would always try to help. Take advantage of the BBQ if you get a chance. The food is great and the atmosphere even better. I would say it is not quite as good as it's sister hostel Traveller's Oasis but it is still a great hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    72
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
130
118
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I'll get the most annoying thing out of the way first. There is one shower upstairs which is supposed to serve about 12 people, this is so annoying and if you're trying to check out on time or get ready to go out at night it can hold you up an hour.

The place is pretty clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly. It's definitely not in the best location to town but there is a semi frequent shuttle bus, this does finish pretty early so no free rides home after a night out.

Atmosphere was pretty good for a smaller hostel.

The checkout is closed from about 12 to 4 which was also a bit annoying.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved our stay here. On checking in, we were given all the info we needed about cairns and were given a tour of the hostel, which was really helpful. We were introduced to all the staff, so we knew exactly who to speak to when needed. Kathy, the owner is great as is Kerrie on reception who is the best person to help book your tours with. The hostel itself feels like a guest house - the bathrooms and social areas are great, including the lovely outdoor area where you'll probably end up spending all your time! On our first night here, we went to their Monday night bbq, which was brilliant, it was a greAt way to meet everyone at the hostel and also try some typical Aussie meats! There is such a lovely atmosphere here, you have to stay when you visit cairns! The distance from town is not bad at all - about a 20 minute walk, but they have about 10 shuttle bus times throughout the day to get you to the centre and back. They also have a sister hostel called traveller 's oasis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed in this hostel as well as the sister hostel Travellers Oasis! Great atmosphere with the most helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kanagroo and emu at the hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed in this hostel on the basis of good reviews and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
- As most people say, really friendly staff and felt at home with the two Northern Irish staff!
- Kerri is the nicest receptionist you will probably ever have
- Feels just like a house with sofas, desks, pictures on the walls etc.
- Free WiFi was a bonus
- Lots of trees, free BBQ to use, hammocks, pool
- Free shuttle bus to the CBD
- Pretty cheap!

Cons:
- As it is laid out like a house, the noise of other guests is a bit of an issue if you have to go to bed early.
- You have to pay for the air conditioning and you get it for 3 hours, wasn't so much an issue in June but I could imagine this would be in the summer months
- The kitchen's are a little small considering the amount of guests, especially if everyone is cooking at once.

Thanks for the stay guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hostel is great! The staff is wonderful and facilities are great! The only negative thing is that it is about a 25-30 min walk to the city center, but they do provide a shuttle van at certain times. I would absolutely stay here again! Book you tours from the tour desk! They are exceptional and can give you discounts!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a great time at Tropic Days. The staff could not have been more helpful. They really couldn't do enough for us. We loved pizza and beer night! The shuttle bus to the center of Cairns was great as well. It is a great hostel with a really friendly and laid back atmosphere. We didn't really want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#15 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#27 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Days Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.