We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Days Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropic Days Backpackers to your Saves list
Tropic Days Backpackers
26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed in this hostel as well as the sister hostel Travellers Oasis! Great atmosphere with the most helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kanagroo and emu at the hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    65
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
116
113
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed in this hostel on the basis of good reviews and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
- As most people say, really friendly staff and felt at home with the two Northern Irish staff!
- Kerri is the nicest receptionist you will probably ever have
- Feels just like a house with sofas, desks, pictures on the walls etc.
- Free WiFi was a bonus
- Lots of trees, free BBQ to use, hammocks, pool
- Free shuttle bus to the CBD
- Pretty cheap!

Cons:
- As it is laid out like a house, the noise of other guests is a bit of an issue if you have to go to bed early.
- You have to pay for the air conditioning and you get it for 3 hours, wasn't so much an issue in June but I could imagine this would be in the summer months
- The kitchen's are a little small considering the amount of guests, especially if everyone is cooking at once.

Thanks for the stay guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hostel is great! The staff is wonderful and facilities are great! The only negative thing is that it is about a 25-30 min walk to the city center, but they do provide a shuttle van at certain times. I would absolutely stay here again! Book you tours from the tour desk! They are exceptional and can give you discounts!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a great time at Tropic Days. The staff could not have been more helpful. They really couldn't do enough for us. We loved pizza and beer night! The shuttle bus to the center of Cairns was great as well. It is a great hostel with a really friendly and laid back atmosphere. We didn't really want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I absolutely loved this backpackers! Best backpackers I've ever stayed at and I've stayed all over Australia, Asia parts of Europe and New Zealand! Fantastic owners! So friendly and giving and the staff that work there always go the extra mile to help you out and make you feel welcome. Everyone is so happy to work there and this reflects on the quality of the customer service and care to each and every individual that stays there. I made alot of friends here and i didn't want to leave. It was close enough to the town center and their free bus shuttle made it very accessible. The perfect place to chill out and relax by their pool and beautiful tropical gardens. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and NO BUNK BEDS!! There was a maximum of 4 people in a room, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week and it was absolutely brilliant.

The two receptionists, Kerri and Marco, were always friendly, polite and helpful. All the other staff were very friendly and chatty.

The only negative thing about this hostel was the location. It's a good 20 min walk from town and when you're laden with shopping bags it isn't fun. They do run a shuttle bus, but we found it wasn't frequent enough.

This hostel is absolutely SPOTLESS, you could eat your dinner off the floor! It's very quiet and chilled, amazing atmosphere, free wifi, free tea...I'd be here for hours if I kept going. This place is absolutely amazing!!

We will be staying at their sister hostel the next few days as it's closer to town.

Thank you for having us, it was an absolute pleasuring staying at Tropic Days.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was one of the best hostels we stayed in on our round the world trip, all the facilities are as you would expect but the big difference were the kind and helpful attitude of all the staff who work there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Days Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.