We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Days Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropic Days Backpackers to your Saves list
Tropic Days Backpackers
26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After some hairy experiences in other hostels on the east coast it was such a treat to come to tropic days.

The staff are so lovely and helped us out with every aspect of our time in cairns.

We stayed in a three bed dorm which was spacious, clean and we all had lockers under the bed and aircon ($1 for 3 hours).

Showers were clean and worked well.

The hostel has pizza and bbq nights whih is a great way to meet people. The bus into the main street was very helpful too.

The atmosphere in this hostel is chilled and friendly and everyone was very chatty.

A great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    65
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
116
113
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dornbirn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I had a great 5 nights stay at Tropic Days. The Hostel is located in the suburbs of Cairns, due to the frequent free shuttleservice thats no problem at all. The staff is very friendly, helpful and knows the city as well as the tour operators really good. Guest were also very open and fun! Would definately stay here again. Thanks!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had an awesome six months here. From August till January this was my home in Australia.

This Hostel has an amazing atmosphere with its music,Swimming Pool which keeps you from walking to the lagoon, hammocks, BBQ-, Pizza-Nights, Free Pool Table and an almost familylike Hostelcrew which you become good friends with.
Getting into the city sometimes sucks but the courtesey bus in it beatiful painting is a fast and easy way to ge there.
Bathrooms are clean, there is free Wifi, a free DVD Hire and free use of the three kitchens also for the people who camp there.

It was the best time in Australia so far.
I'm defenitely gonna miss it.

Room Tip: You can camp here for $16 in the hostel-owned tents or bring your own for $12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved my stay at Tropic Days and I met some lovely, friendly people there, a few of which had ended up extending their stays for longer as the hostel was just fab!

I was in a 4 bed dorm, which was clean and comfortable, with a small locker available for valuables. The hostel was generally clean and there was a small kitchen, living area, showers for each collection of rooms on both levels in the 2 blocks, with one main kitchen, which included an oven. There is a pool and hammocks to chill out in, as well as an outdoor BBQ that you can use. The communal area outside was a great place to socialise and meet other backpackers. There is also free wifi and 2 Pc's you can use.

The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. They were happy to make recommendations on tours to book, travel options etc... and booked it all for you. Definitely the best hostel team I came across whilst in Australia.

The hostel is a bit further out, although there is a shuttle bus you can get to/from the main part of town at set times. Traveller's Oasis, the sister hostel is a bit closer to the main area, so I would try there first and then Tropic Days if it is busy.

Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Tropic Days and its sister backpackers Traveller's Oasis (also in Cairns and closer to town) were the 2 best hostels I stayed at in my time in Australia. It is one of only a couple of hostels I've been at with free wifi, which was really useful, and it was very clean and nice. There's a pool and lots of info on things to do. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful in planning trips and with anything else I needed (including after I left!). The only thing was it was a bit of a walk from the main part of town and the shuttle only went a handful of times a day. However I would certainly recommend staying at Tropic Days!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The only con of this hostel is that it is about a 20 minute walk from town. But they have a free shuttle that runs from the hostel to town multiple times per day to combat this problem.

Other than that, I have absolutely zero complaints and only the best things to say about Tropic Days. The owner, Gabe, and the rest of the staff are SO friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and spacious, there are individual safes, air conditioning for a small fee, fans, and 2 clean kitchens and lounge areas- one for each house of rooms. There is also an outside table area, complete with a pool and hammocks. They will let you borrow towels free of charge. We were even allowed to take them on our three day dive trip- and could store our backpacks at the hostel during this time too!

The first day we were there, Monday, Tropic Days hosts an Australian BBQ for $12. We ate delicious Kangaroo, Emu, Crocodile, fish, and lots of side salads. Gabe himself was over the BBQ and has a famous red wine sauce. We then got a demonstration on how to play aboriginal instruments. It was such a great night with over 60 other backpackers (most from either Tropic Days, or their sister hostel, Travellers Oasis).

I would highly recommend staying here. I would imagine that Travellers Oasis is just as fabulous and for that reason I would recommend Travellers Oasis first because it is closer to town, however the atmosphere and facilities of Tropic Days is the absolute best. If I am ever in Cairns again, I will not hesitate on where to book.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at Tropic Days and can honestly say after not backpacking for years I felt right at home. The staff were brilliant, attentive and on the ball. I arrived not having a clue and ended up leaving having done some amazing things thanks to staff recommendations. Pizza night was a treat and helped everyone to get to know each other. I especially liked that the rooms had a safe for each person and was one of the main reasons for picking this backpackers above others (and the fact that it was not a crazy party one - I do like to sleep at night :-)). Overall the place was clean and I would highly recommend it. One thought though - it would be nice if the windows opened a little wider as it was really hot and the room did get quite stuffy even with the ceiling fan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Days Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.