We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jack Backpackers

Save Saved
You added The Jack Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jack Backpackers
48 Spence Street | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The staff is nice, the free dinner is a little light but okay, the rooms are clean.
I stayed 2 nights with my boyfriend in a double room and we were very satisfied. We didn't try the shared kitchen though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
10
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Jack's is awesome, booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks! It's extremely clean, safe and the staff are the friendliest I've come across. The wifi is not only free but works in your room. The free meals never let us down and being able to double up for $3 is really good value. There's nightly deals and activities in the bar, we ended up winning an amazing waterfall trip entering a beer pong comp for free, and there's always a night out or social activity to join. It's also really good for the nights you need to sleep, anyone drinking is moved on by the night security guys that walk around all night from 12am making sure no one that comes in drunk late are disturbing anyone. It's extremely good value, we had a budget double that was absolutely amazing for the price and I really couldn't recommend the place highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a few weeks in May, I've been travelling for 5 months so I've stayed in a lot of hostels this was hands down the cleanest hostel I've stayed in. The housekeeping staff especially the house keeping supervisor do an incredible job the place looks amazing!

The hostel provides free evening meals which is a massive bonus when travelling not great food and small portions but hey it's free and you can pay $3 and get a double portion.

The music entertainment in the evening is amazing some really talented bands and singers I'd say even if you weren't staying there go down in the evening to check the bands out.

The girl with the dark hair behind reception is lovely really welcoming.

Not sure if I'd stay again nothing massively wrong with the hostel and as I've said hygiene wise it can't be faulted, but the crowd of people there isn't for me, if you were travelling on your own I wouldn't suggest staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were here for over a week and on the whole really enjoyed our stay here.

Had a private room which was well worth the extra few dollars. Showers are big, bathrooms are fine. There's a nice outdoor balcony to chill on. And the staff are really good, and super helpful. Wifi is really good, fast connection, though you do get a 300mb allowance.

If you aren't going out, the hostel can be quite noisy till midnight, then the noise curfew kicks in and it's fine. The pub, bar, venue downstairs is good on a weekend with live music, and really good musicians.

You get a free dinner in the evening which is great. Ladies night on a Thursday was great, free champers!

Recommend if you want somewhere fun to stay.

Room Tip: The dorm rooms looked a bit wild, for a few dollars extra I would always go for a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Amazing for partying or chilling. The massive balcony MAKES this place. I could sit outside and chill during the day enjoying the light passing breeze. Then at night everyone puts tables together and gets their party on!!!

You are allowed your own booze even though there is a bar downstairs, which so many hostels do not do! There's a free meal every night, there's a chilled lounge area, fridge in your room, beer pong tournaments etc. I stayed there for a month and a half, loved it. its just round the corner from gilligans (the main club/bar) and woolshed (the other popular spot).

The staff were epic, from the night staff to reception to the chefs! I lost my keys and asked the reception like 500 stupid questions and they always helped.

Its average priced which is great value for the best hostel in cairns.

I really can't recommend this place enough!!!
I had more than one friend stay at gilligans and then end up moving to the jack cause of the predrinks on the balcony alone! haha

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I arrived at "The Jack"in Cairns in April 2014 after a recommendation from a lass at the Esplanade.First contact was at the reception from an "angel"by the name of Jennifer,who's multi-tasking was akin to a Swiss Army knive on steroids...nothing was too much trouble, and all done with the utmost courtesy, a cheeky smile and a laugh!On entering the lounge area, kitchen,dorms and ablutions upstairs,I was struck with a feeling that I had walked through a "portal"into the Cairns Hilton..."It's too clean for a
backpackers!" But no...every day the ever so cheery Harriet and her team do battle with the unmentionable tide of human detritus left over from the prime of the world's youth...."Who Dares Wins"S.A.S(Squidgee And Soap).Well done gals...the cleanest, friendliest backpackers in Queensland, bar none!
All in all a terrific venue for youngsters, even though I'm in my 50's and hearing impaired(which is a blessing sometimes!)I had a blast!Last although certainly not least a big pat on the back for the bar and catering staff who dish up the most delicious free culinary fare for our enjoyment...a big thankee guys'n'gals.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side probably quieter...but earplugs do the trick amply! All squeeky clean rooms servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here on my own and made some great friends. Loved how it was social and there was a bit open space to chill out. Only thing I would say is there aren't many showers but it wasn't that much of a big deal most days! Rooms were clean and spacious and the noise wasn't too bad at all. Free wifi and the free meal is so good every night, saves so much time and effort (and money!) 5 minute walk from the lagoon and 2 mins from shops and clubs. Really liked my stay here I would definitely go back if I returned to cairns!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#24 of 83 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Lodge, Free Par...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Lodge, Free Bre...
Show More
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#10 of 83 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Hostel, L...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#26 of 83 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Pool, Hostel, B...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jack Backpackers

Address: 48 Spence Street | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jack Backpackers is newly refurbished pub-style backpacker accommodation. The accommodation has 120 beds, ranging from 8 bed dorms with shared bathrooms, to four bed dorms and private double rooms with ensuite. The massive pub downstairs has three different bars, a beautiful outdoor undercover beer garden, top quality meal deals for the budget traveler, our famous Friends With Benefits VIP guest discount card, SETANTA & FOX sports action shown on our BIG screens daily 7 days a week, pool tables, a CASINO gaming lounge, plus free entertainment & activities 5 nights a week from Wednesday to Sunday, between the hours of 6pm & 12am. Entertainment on offer ranges from some of the best local & national live bands and DJ's, themed parties, crazy games, beer pong, open mic nights, + much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Jack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jack Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.