We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan's Rest

Save Saved
You added Ryan's Rest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's Rest
18 Terminus St | Parramatta Park, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Useful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are a family with three small children and stayed for 4 nights at Ryan's rest. I guess we stayed during the quieter period towards end of October. We had use of a self contained flat which was brilliant with our little kids. Though it was a 15 min walk through town to the waterfront it was very convenient for taking tours or trains with the station less than 5 min walk as well as convenient for groceries as shopping centre is near train station. Our other option was much closer to the waterfront, however would have been a greater walking distance to the lagoon (and groceries) we had best of both worlds and the pricing was excellent for Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom "apartment" on the ground floor of the main building. The bedrooms were a little on the small size with older beds/furniture but each had individual air con and ceiling fans; a good sized living area including a full kitchen and a full sized dining table, and a big TV that we had no idea how to program! The shower was inside the apartment but the toilet was outside the "back door" and available to all residents (although it was not really used by others). The upper floor has a number of single rooms and shared facilities. as well as a couple of comfortable covered verandas. We did not fly out until late Monday, and we were able to leave our bags and use the shower on the upper floor in the evening before we left for the airport. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night and had no problems with noise. The accommodation is very secure needing an access code to get through the main gate. The office was not manned on weekends and so it took us a little while to figure out where our keys were when we arrived at 5pm Saturday evening. It is close to the rail station, a few backpacker hostels and an indoor shopping mall. It's a good 20+ minute walk to the reef boat terminal and main restaurant/bar strip on the waterfront. It's a cross between a hostel and lodge, definitely not a hotel. If you accept this it is a fun, different place to stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

hi everyone !
i have been living in ryan's rest for almost 6 months so i thought that maybe posting a comment about the place would help the management improve the service.
the main house where the office is,is a beautiful old queenslander with a beautiful balcony and big rooms.
Both bathrooms have been recently renovated and the kitchen is in good conditions.
you may not be able to sleep well if you are a light sleeper as the house is made in wood and sometimes people are having parties and it might me a bit hard to get some sleep as you can hear everything.
overall the place is amazing apart for one little thing,that is actually the reason why i am forced to move out of this place.


i remember when i first moved in an aussie couple was telling me about the cleaner ,Susie,an old lady that defines herself the "housekeeper".
they suggested me to stay away from her as she would be so nice in the beginning but she would turn bad with time,talking to guests with an attitude.
i could not believe it in the first place but then after a few weeks she showed her real side.

this person has been working at ryan's rest for 24 years and surprisingly she never got kicked out.
Susie thinks she is the boss of the house.
she of course needs to pick on someone and unfortunately the person involved was me.
i am telling you, it didn't matter who the messy person was in the house she would always pick on me just because she is probably frustrated and she needs to treat people like dirt just to feel better herself.
i tried so much to avoid arguments with her but none of this worked properly.
She comes around 9 every morning and wakes everybody up,doing it on purpose.
leaving the vacuum on just so other people could wake up. she walks like she is about to demolish the house down. same when she cleans the floor.
let's say you are having a nice breakfast in the morning,Susie would get the vacuum and vacuum the table just about 5/6 cm from your breakfast.
let's say you are having lunch with your friends,everybody is happy and having a good time.
Susie would come to you and in front of everyone she would say MAKE SURE YOUR FRIENDS CLEAN AFTERWARDS. your friends would just look at you in a weird way feeling embarrassed and uncomfortable.
Susie needs a tea in the morning so she would open the fridge and get other people's milk to make her tea taste better.
Susie has breakfast in this house in the morning and when she is supposed to clean she is sitting in one of the rooms that needs to be cleaned and just eat her breakfast and do nothing.
Susie would literally have a go on you and put you in such a horrible mood just because she doesn't like you.
Susie would try to talk bad about you if she doesn't like you with other guests in the house just to make you look bad.
Susie would drink alcohol while working.
Susie would sit down for a couple of hours doing her stuff on the computer when she is supposed to clean really.

the funny thing is that one morning i woke up (consider i have two jobs,one in the morning one in the night plus i am a student) Susie came to kitchen accusing me of leaving the kitchen dirty when the night before i was not even in the house,i was at work.
so the big argument began.

Susie would not drop the issue and she actually took the chance to call an " EVIL B..ch" and the c word.

She went straight to the landlord that of course did not believe me or maybe tried to avoid arguments with this poor person.

my point is that when you work in hospitality or you are the landlord of such a beautiful place,having a person like Susie around would just ruing the whole experience and finally a person ends up moving out like i am doing.
Susie does not deserve her job nor the money she gets from our rent.

Susie deserves to stay at home,in peace so she would finally stop making other people's life impossible.

Susie needs to learn how to deal with guests and how to treat them and get rid of her terrible attitude.


if you ever go to ryan's rest please have a look at the guests book that you find somewhere in the house and you will read that what i am saying is actually happening and it is not just a nasty comment made to make her feel bad.
unfortunately some people will remain forever poor inside.
and she is one of them.

don't worry Susie.
You will pay for what you do to nice people trying to have a good time.


that being said i wish you all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: avoid room 6 as you will face the " CLEANER" straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling_Man4870, Manager at Ryan's Rest, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
No one by the name of 431 Butterfly87 has been a guest at Ryans Rest however Suzie the housekeeper is strict about keeping the kitchen and common areas clean and tidy for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If this accommodation had been described as suitable for backpackers or budget style accommodation there would not have been the disappointment. It was that it described itself as Boutique. More was expected. Certainly an outside privy was a shock. True ... when the details mentioned bathroom we had presumed a toilet would be located in the property - but no. Whilst shower and basin were inside, the toilet was outside. Through a noise ill-fitting door. At 2.00 am, when caught short, I had someone trying to enter the same outside toilet. Close to shopping centre and rail, but too far from the waterfront. I didn't find it quaint and oldstyle - I found it grotty and in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling_Man4870, Manager at Ryan's Rest, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Sorry that Ryans Rest was not up to expectations. Built over 90 years ago, this Cairns accommodation house retains its original character and provides a unique accommodation experience. It is a traditional old world Queenslander that most guests find charming and a different accommodation experience from staying in just another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, it's true that this place is on a quiet back street but that doesn't mean it is a quiet place to stay. It is an old building (which was quite cute; the first 5 minutes we were there we loved it). However, the walls are paper thin and the building exceptionally noisy. We were in a room on the second floor, at the back. People sat out drinking and talking until early in the morning, which would have been fine (they were not being excessively loud, just talking at a normal level) except you can hear EVERYTHING through the walls and the sheet over the window facing them didn't keep any light out. Also, there is a panel above the door filled with holes to the outside where cigarette smoke poured in, light shown through, and insects crawled in. Our room was FILLED with smoke and insects. When everyone finally went to sleep, we were still awoken every 1/2 hour when someone would get up to use the toilets, as the floors creak and the doors bang shut.

We never saw anyone who worked there our entire stay. They left our keys in the mailbox the night before and came into work late. We had originally booked for 3 nights, but after the first night of not sleeping and chocking on cigarette smoke, we decided to stay somewhere else. No apology was offered and we still had to pay for the whole 3 nights, even though we only stayed there 1. So glad we left after the first night though... otherwise, we wouldn't have been able to enjoy anything during the day as we would have been exhausted.

Spend the extra $10 and stay at a real hotel... you won't regret it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanRest, Manager at Ryan's Rest, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Jessica,

Sorry your stay wasn't the best at Ryan's Rest.

I actually upgraded you guys to a better room then what you paid for being a Boutique Double room but that back fired.

Unfortunately you had checked out before we could fix your problem as we did have dorm rooms available which are located at the front of the house.

As we are a very small business, we have 2 part time staff, we only have someone in the office during certain times.

I may have been late into work that day due to the fact that i had to take my 10 week old son to the clinic for his check up so i do apologies for not being there.

Cam - The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Ryan's Rest for 3 nights early August 2013.

Location - excellent location, 1 minute walk to Cairns railway station, 1 minute walk to Cairns Central (Cairns' biggest shopping mall), and a comfortable 10 minute walk to the Esplanade. Ryan's Rest is in a quiet street away from the loud pubs and clubs of the city - so it's easy to get a good night sleep in a quiet environment - but close enough to easily walk to everything (and everywhere) that you need. The location was perfect for us, as we prefer being away from the hustle and bustle of anywhere we travel to, but we also like being close enough to easily walk to when required.

Room - Ryan's Rest is a beautiful Queenslander style house that has been tastefully divided into a number of self contained apartments and dorms. We had a large room on the ground floor just behind the manager's office. It was a self contained apartment with a large bedroom, big living room, full kitchen, and great bathroom. The apartment came with free WiFi, cable TV, fan and air conditioning, and there was also access to a communal laundry and swimming pool. Overall, Ryan's Rest was more than comfortable, and exceptionally good value for money.

Service - Excellent. Cameron (the owner) is very easy going, very well organised, and very knowledgable of Cairns and the surrounding areas. We booked a day trip based on his recommendation, and it turned out to be the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend booking tours/day trips through him, as he's more than happy to give great advice on what activities to do and when to do them. We couldn't want/expect any better service from an owner.

Overall - Great place to stay. Great value. Service was excellent. And the location was absolutely perfect for us. I'd highly recommend Ryan's Rest, and will definately stay there the next time we are in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean and cozy accomodation, short walk to Cairns and in a quiet area. Spacious rooms in a quaint "Queenslander" style dwelling. Very homely vibe and friendly staff made staying at Ryan's Rest an easy going and fun experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryan's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Rest

Address: 18 Terminus St | Parramatta Park, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ryan's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.