We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Njoy! Travellers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Njoy! Travellers Resort to your Saves list
Njoy! Travellers Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Myself and my partner had a great stay here. Lovely vibe in it, staff very nice and helpful with all enquiries. 10 minute walk to main street also provide a shuttle bus but we didn't need it. We had a private room sink mirror fridge table and chairs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    69
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
39
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our first experience of a hostel in Australia and it was great. It was clean and spacious and the staff were really friendly. The free wifi is a bonus! Its a 10min walk into the main town but it's nice to be able to walk to the nightlife then come back to somewhere a bit more quiet. We were only supposed to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 6!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I've stayed in Njoy! for over two months. I worked for the Nightwatch, so my experience may be a little different from people who just stay here as guest.
But to be honest; it's awesome!! (I wouldn't have stayed there so long if it wasn't good)
The Hostel is clean, (you're welcome =p ) the beds are good, and rooms have air condition (trust me, you want that)
And than the staff; can I just say you will NEVER find a staff so HELPFUL as in Njoy!
It doesn't matter what you'll need or want to do, the pretty faces behind the desk will do everything to help you!!(they have great deals throughout the week)
Plus, if you need a good night out, go see Martin, he will take you to the place to be ( He might disappear when you least expect it, but don't worry, he just went back to Njoy!)
Spend your hangover in the pool or hammocks and watch a nice movie every night at 6.
And if you can't sleep and just need someone to talk to; The Nightwatch!! Whether it's 3am and you come back utterly bungalowed, or when you have a flight to catch in the early morning, the nightwatch is there for you!!
Long story short (too late);
Njoy! IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN CAIRNS!! (don't get discouraged by the distance from city center, it's a nice walk and they offer a free shuttle every hour)

I miss you guys!!

Tim

P.S. this site gives me the question to select how I was traveling, although I arrived here alone, in Njoy! you're always with friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here. From the moment i checked in i knew i had chosen the right place to stay. The staff were so friendly especially Jo at reception. Nothing was a problem for her. The room was spacious and very clean. They have a great communal area and a pool.If you want to go on a tour book with these guys they know all the local secrets This place is paradise at an affordable price. Thank you for making my trip to Cairns so memorable i really NJOYed it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for 4days 3nights.The reception desk was very helpful to make sure that our bookings for activities are confirmed and even went the extra mile to provide food vouchers,provide free shuttle service to the airport.Room cleanliness wise,they did a good job to tidy up the room,fresh bed linen,a working Aircon through out my stay.As for the atmosphere it is very nice....very communal for the reception area..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

the matress had holes and oxid springs coming out of them. Even when reported, the hostel did nothing about it. In 4 days.
Furthermore, when something was left in the room and they aknowledged having found it, they never made the slightliest effort to return it.
In any case, staff was quite.... careless.

Room Tip: Choose some other hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad F, General Manager at Njoy! Travellers Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guillaume M, we are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It comes as a great surprise to hear that you did not find our staff accommodating as we pride ourselves on providing outstanding customer service. I am unsure how your complaint about the mattress was not reported to maintenance during this busy time but it has been rectified. We also have belongings left in rooms every day by our guests and unfortunately as much as we would like to, we cannot track down every guest who leaves something in a room to return it. We do however keep all items in a lost property box at reception and when a guest reports something lost, we check if we have it there. Once again our sincerest apologies that your stay was not to the standard you expected from us and we wish you safe travels for the future. Kind regards from the Njoy team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend in a double for 2 nights. The facilities are fine, room was big and clean and the pooltable is free of charge;). 10/15 min walk to the centre/lagoon. Only thing we missed was an airco or something. The bedroom was too damn hot.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.5 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#10 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaway's Backpackers
Castaway's Backpackers
#12 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#26 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Njoy! Travellers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.