We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my Home away from Home :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Njoy! Travellers Resort

Save Saved
You added Njoy! Travellers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Njoy! Travellers Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my Home away from Home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Cheap rates, great staff ;) overall a good atmosphere and sure to make your own "Njoy Family" during your stay. Swimming pool, free shuttle bus to and from town, free meal and airport pick ups (need to be arranged)..relaxed, friendly place that I kept coming back to for nearly two years!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
25
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed there for 5 nights in an 8-bed room.
The staff are very nice and helpful in general, except for Luke (I think that was his name). He was not welcoming at all.
The rooms are simple but comfortable. After 10-11 p.m it is very quiet so it is a good place for the people who want to rest and get up early to catch the tours! All the facilities were always clean.
They have movies every night, a nice pool, a fully equipped kitchen, free airport pickup and drop off and free dinner (that was the best part!)
I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff here are absolutely great, so friendly and helpful. We were picked up from the airport by someone within 10 minutes of arriving, checked in quickly and given maps and information.
The actual room is pretty nice, you get a fridge and a sink and it's spacious (we had a double room, not sure but from what i saw the dorms are much the same). The bed was comfy enough, we had two sheets which was all you needed with the tempetrature of the place. Everyone staying here seems quite respectful so the place was pretty silent between 10pm - 8am.
There is a shuttle to the town quite regularly, but the walk is only about 10 minutes so we did that. You can also book shuttles back to the airport through them which is really handy.
You get given vouchers for free meals at the Woolshed which is great if you're trying to save money! The meal choices are mostly spaghetti with sauce, they taste fine. You can upgrade to other items for $3/$5/$8 though which you should do one night, just so the meals don't get repetitive!
The only con to this place was that we had some tiny insects in our room by the sink, but I went down to talk to the guy at the desk and he gave me some bug spray which instantly stopped them and they weren't a bother. Pretty confident this was a one-off for them as well.
Overall, great place and we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff here are absolutely great, so friendly and helpful. We were picked up from the airport by someone within 10 minutes of arriving, checked in quickly and given maps and information.
The actual room is pretty nice, you get a fridge and a sink and it's spacious (we had a double room, not sure but from what i saw the dorms are much the same). The bed was comfy enough, we had two sheets which was all you needed with the tempetrature of the place. Everyone staying here seems quite respectful so the place was pretty silent between 10pm - 8am.
There is a shuttle to the town quite regularly, but the walk is only about 10 minutes so we did that. You can also book shuttles back to the airport through them which is really handy.
You get given vouchers for free meals at the Woolshed which is great if you're trying to save money! The meal choices are mostly spaghetti with sauce, they taste fine. You can upgrade to other items for $3/$5/$8 though which you should do one night, just so the meals don't get repetitive!
The only con to this place was that we had some tiny insects in our room by the sink, but I went down to talk to the guy at the desk and he gave me some bug spray which instantly stopped them and they weren't a bother. Pretty confident this was a one-off for them as well.
Overall, great place and we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Met at the airport, the friendly staff at Njoy made me feel welcoming. The dorm was clean, the beds comfortable and it was a good start to my visit to Cairns. There was no free wifi however, which was a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pretty average hostel.. Its pretty loud and echoey at night so I would make sure you have some earplugs. Staff are pretty friendly. No hot water at all and we stayed there for five nights... Kitchens pretty basic but enough to cook a little. I guess the only thing really negative I would have to say is that its a very young group of people there and its more like the local youth club than the 'N-Joyable' hostel it states it is.

Room Tip: I dont know if there is a good room, we were furthest away from the music but could still hear the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hey guys :)
If you ask me I had my best time in this hostel. Its the perfect mixture between quiet , relaxing and partying. The staff tries always to make your stay comfortable and help you out if there is a problem. I stayed 6 months in total in NJoY and it was the first hostel where I felt part of it after couple of days. In my opinion its in the perfect Location: not too close to the loud partycentre and not too far away. I just loved it.
Loads of fun is for sure so enjoy your stay in Njoy :)
Cheers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Njoy! Travellers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.