We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Njoy! Travellers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Njoy! Travellers Resort to your Saves list
Njoy! Travellers Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chilled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was really chilled out, friendly staff and a good place to be based. Not far from the beach or supermarket. Free shuttle to the airport and from the airport. Would recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
35
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed mix. Couldn't fault the hostel at all. The rooms were clean with plenty of shelves, ours had a fridge and sink.
The bathrooms were fine, very good and warm showers and no queues!
The kitchen was a good size and had everything we needed, you get free meal vouchers so no need to cook dinner which is a bonus.
There is a regular free shuttle into town but you could easily walk in 10 mins (which is very good for cairns as many others are further). We also got the shuttle free to the airport which was great.
It was great value and the staff were very helpful and accommodating with our last minute booking.
The only negative was the cost of wifi - $3.50 per hour is the most expensive we have come across in OZ but apart from that would highly recommend and would def return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have backpacked around Europe and Australia. I stayed in this hostel with a friend who had also backpacked around Europe and Canada so between us we have stayed in a great many hostels. This however, was one of the worst we had both experienced. For starters the rooms were tiny with four bunk beds jammed together. The bunk beds had no ladders which made getting in and out of bed more than difficult. There was only one power socket between eight people and one light switch which made getting out of bed during the night to use the toilet fairly difficult. The room itself was filthy as were the bathrrooms and showers. In the three days we stayed there we never once saw a cleaner. Worst of all was the kitchen which apart from being infested with ants was thoroughly disgusting. The sinks were filled with dirty dishes as were the counter tops. The counter tops, sinks, cookers etc were covered in crumbs, food, etc. In most hostels the kitchens are kept clean because management keep an eye on who is using the kitchen. This did not happen despite the fact that the kitchen was located right beside the reception desk. I would not under any circumstances recommend this dive to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradFoster, Owner at Njoy! Travellers Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Quinn12,
Firstly, we are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at NJOY! We would have loved to have been informed of your thoughts whilst you stayed with us for the three nights in July.
In response to your review, we are a budget backpackers in the tropics and living in the tropics brings all kinds of insects into your home, even once you’ve cleaned. Ants are attracted to food and will find anyway possible to get to it! This happens in my own home also on a daily basis.
We have a Nightwatchman working from 22.00 through to 07.00 everynight who thoroughly cleans the kitchen after dinner along with the grounds. We have housekeeping cleaners working daily from 09.00 to 12.00 on our rooms who also clean the kitchen after breakfast. We have a spring cleaner who cleans the kitchen and other areas after lunch and the Duty Manager is responsible to keep an eye on the kitchen whilst on shift. We are surprised that you never encountered a cleaner and will take this issue up with all staff involved to ensure this doesn’t happen again.
Along with the cleaners we give out dinner sets to our guests who clean them, hold onto them and drop them back upon check out. We use this system to avoid messes left in the kitchen. Being a budget backpackers, we rely on our adult guests to clean up after themselves as you would in your own home. Unfortunately the Duty Managers are very busy at times and fail to watch who is cooking and rely on people to clean up after themselves.
We try and cater for everyone in regards to dorm sizes and unfortunately you first stayed in our largest dorm, we have mainly 4 share rooms and your agent booked you in to a large dorm and we would have been more than happy to accommodate you in a small dorm had you spoken to reception.
Apologies for not meeting your expectations and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickleton, South Cambs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at N'Joy end of june 2012 had only planned to stay for 4 days ended up staying over a week. The staff were great, Jen in particular was awesome, my room was clean and spacious, the kitchen roomy with free T & Coffee :) cool little pool to hang around particularly liked the atmosphere good groups of peeps mixture of ages, party peeps and chillers...the movie every night was great, loved staying here felt part of N'Joy and was sad to leave at the end of my stay would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Despite of the good staff all the facility it's very dirty and not comfortable. It's also located quite far from the esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

the staff are all really friendly and very outgoing!! rooms were clean with a sink, fridge and air-con! very calm chilled atmosphere but there is always someone to go out with and party if you want to!! Jen and martin behind the counter are bother really good fun like minded travelers with loads of advise on what to do and not what to do!
its close enough to town to walk but they offer a bus every hour anyway! and you get a free meal at the Woolshed as well! that u can up grade to nearly anything else on the menu for like $8 very nice food!!

i would happily recommend a stay at this hostel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked a double room with ensuite facilities at $30 a night each which we thought was a bargain. We booked through hostelworld and paid a $12 deposit. When we arrived at the airport, we were told that there'd be a shuttle bus to take us to the hostel. So we called the number that was on the booking confirmation and we were lucky to have a bus waiting for us as soon as we arrived at the Bus Pickup Zone. We were coming from Melbourne so it was probably a popular time.
The bus driver helped us with our luggage and we said hello to one other passenger on the bus. So perhaps they'd do their best to come and collect you - certainly no truth in only 1 bus per hour as stated in the negative reviews.
We arrived at the hostel and checked in which was all OK. We paid the full value upfront (which I always feel uncomfortable with because it means you're less likely to get a refund if you dislike or need to leave the place on longer stays). The receptionist explained that we had to hire a dinner set which is basically a bowl, plate, cutlery and mug each which we paid a $20 returnable deposit for. The internet is NOT free and there is WIFI but again, not free. However, we did spot a nearby cafe with free wifi so this is not a problem if you have a laptop with you.
There was a swimming pool which nobody used during our stay, computer and print facilities, a communal kitchen and outdoor dining area which I thought was cool. There was also a TV and a place to watch DVD's.
Smoking was permitted outside in the ONLY dining area outside so we had to hold our breath whilst eating our dinner - this was the first negative.
When went into our room, it was very basic. The size was reasonable, there was a clean double bed, desk with an empty fridge (we thought this was cool), aircon and windows you could open with a view of the back yard, bathroom had a basic shower, kitchen sink, wardrobe, mirror and toilet. There is no hot water at the sink but there is hot water in the shower. The shower isn't that powerful but worked fine and we thought the room was quite clean. The aircon wasn't used but we turned it on to see if it worked which it did. It was not that noisy and to be honest, would have been a nice sound to drown out any drunk party people in the hostel.
No towels or soap so bring your own!

Luckily our room as at the end of the hostel but it was also right by the bathrooms so we were often woken up by the sound of people showering at 4am or 5am. During the evenings, we could hear people from the kitchen and dining area well after 11pm so that was a bit annoying. Had we booked a room closer to the dining area, it would have been even worse so I felt even more sorry for those guys! Earplugs recommended!

The communal bathrooms next door to us was a basic bathroom, one for girls and one for boys. Each one had 2 showers, 3 or 4 toilets and sinks. They looked fairly clean though people tend to take long showers and waste water so there were lots of signs about water usage throughout the hostel.

This is definitely a party hostel where people love to socialise but also drink and shout a lot late into the evening, However, for the price, this wasn't a bad price to pay. I had brought ear plugs in case it was too unbearable but luckily didn't have to use them.
The only thing bad about the kitchen is that the stove tops are very old and electric so it took ages to cook anything. I would recommend you plan dinner well in advance! Everything else was fine. There were cupboards, fridges and labels for your food if you choose to stay in a dorm. Plenty of pots, pans and stuff to go round.

We were offered a free meal voucher at the Woolshed but by the looks of the poster, it didn't look at all that appealing. I'm also vegetarian so I didn't think there'd be much of a choice. Judging by the amount of people cooking for themselves at the hostel, I also thought it was probably not that good! However, we'll probably try it next time we're back in Cairns as I've just checked out their menu and it looked pretty OK for something that is free.

The reception is staffed during 10am-7pm - if you need anything such as checking out earlier (checkout is at 10am), then you just let them know otherwise noone will be around. If you're arriving into Cairns outside of these hours, the shuttle bus won't be around to pick you up.
The people who stayed at the hostel were mostly very young student types, age ranging mostly between 18 to 25. There was the odd old dude there too who didn't really speak to anyone or was too drunk/stoned to communicate which was a bit weird but he kept to himself. There is a good mix at the hostel, a lot of Irish, Koreans, Dutch, French and Germans. Not many Australians and English.
There was free sugar, salt, tea, coffee and sun lotion available.

Upon checkout, we were going to walk to the airport but reception checked if the shuttle bus were on their way or able to drop us off. Usually, the bus only goes to the airport around 8.35am and then 11.35am...couldn't remember the other times, but about 6 times throughout the day. Don't let that dishearten you, we asked if they could drop us off and luckily they were able to arrange this just for us so that was awesome!
Otherwise, a taxi is only about $13 to the airport and takes about 10-15minutes.

Generally, quite happy with this hostel and for the price, it's pretty damn good! Would definitely stay with them again!

Room Tip: The double rooms with ensuite are the quietest rooms. All dorms are right by the communal areas so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Njoy! Travellers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.